We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”
Review of Palazzo de Piro

Palazzo de Piro
Ranked #7 of 22 things to do in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unique in its flexibility as a venue, Palazzo de Piro has been transformed into one of Malta’s premier hubs of culture and activity. The Palazzo features a program of various collections held by the Metropolitan Cathedral Museum and is also host to a wide variety of artistic events (independant art exhibitions, concerts, theatre plays, seminars...) Palazzo de Piro also hosts the Xpresso Cafe which enjoys spectacular views over the Maltese countryside and provides visitors with nothing but the freshest, top class and healthy Maltese dishes and delicacies.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went after seeing the menu and deciding we felt like burgers for once.
We had seats on the Basion overlooking (I think ) Mosta. It was beautiful at night.
The facility also hosts events and one was being held on the 3rd floor as we could see from the windows.
Food was good

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jppjrcemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    110
    30
    29
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very nice surroundings good choice of food very good prices staff and service extremely good. Have been a number of times and always most enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EileenDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food + Excellent Service”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We recently made a surprise party for mum in the rooms and terrace upstairs. The food was really good and original. Everyone enjoyed it and all had positive feedback about the place and the food. The views from the terrace are amazing too. The staff were very helpful and friendly too. It made this occasion a night to remember. Prices are also reasonable. A very big well done!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank emanazzopardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Frustrating....”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful restaurant, atmosphere And view though when you've got extremely poor service this is just not good enough unfortunately!
The staff were clearly never trained for the job or just simply couldn't care less.. Really was disgraceful apart from the only 1 Spanish waitress that poor thing was trying really hard to do everything herself! Otherwise absolutely disgraceful to the rest of the staff! We walked in and after waiting a good 30 mins had to get up ourselves to get the Menus and order drinks!. Eventually we ordered food and the food was left lying on the table for 10 mins before the cutlery was brought to us! About 1 hour from ordering... Plenty of time to lay a table.So again food could have been good though unfortunately it was cold!

This is just so annoying.... What's the point of having such a nice restaurant when you don't employ staff to complement the venue and values!! Really disappointed! Majority of staff we're rude and just ignored us! Any reason for us to return??? Shame because we both work in jobs that meet new people arriving to the island and always requested to recommend good restaurants...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Private P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We went for a sunday lunch to this place. We were given 2 small tables between 8 people and barely managed to sit comfortably. Food was good however the overall service was very poor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sscerri-malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo de Piro also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Palazzo de Piro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing