We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A walk down memory lane, but better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palazzo de Piro

Palazzo de Piro
Ranked #7 of 22 things to do in Mdina
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unique in its flexibility as a venue, Palazzo de Piro has been transformed into one of Malta’s premier hubs of culture and activity. The Palazzo features a program of various collections held by the Metropolitan Cathedral Museum and is also host to a wide variety of artistic events (independant art exhibitions, concerts, theatre plays, seminars...) Palazzo de Piro also hosts the Xpresso Cafe which enjoys spectacular views over the Maltese countryside and provides visitors with nothing but the freshest, top class and healthy Maltese dishes and delicacies.
Malta
1 review
“A walk down memory lane, but better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Having chosen Palazzo de Piro for our reunion (a fitting venue considering it used to house our convent school before its impressive restoration) I can say this was one choice I did not regret. Exceptional service, indeed.

What was meant to be a light evening meal turned out to be a full-blown multi-course feast, much to our pleasure. It was an all-round enjoyable experience. Both the food (complete with flowing wine and water) and the service were impeccable, not to mention the magical atmosphere the banquet room provided. And here I really must thank Johanna Ward for her top-notch coordination, and Karl and Silvan, who ensured a very smoothly-run evening.

Value for money? Absolutely.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo de Piro, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

At The Xara Palace we value our guests feedback and are very happy to hear that your event at our venue Palazzo de Piro was a successful one and you enjoyed it as well as your guests.
We strive to provide excellent service to our guests and are pleased to hear you would recommend Palazzo de Piro.
Should you require any further information from our side please do not hesitate to get in touch with me on marketing@xarapalace.com.mt.
Kindest Regards
Heidi Pantzar
Marketing and PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    103
    26
    25
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Smart and civilised cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stumbled on this cafe quite by accident but were very glad we did. It's in the Palazzo de Piro cultural centre but is run by the Xara Palace, reputedly M'dina's best hotel (and possibly Malta's too). We ate outside in a smart, coolly white space with a glimpse through the walls over the surrounding countryside. Excellent and attentive service and good food and wine. The asparagus quiche with a side salad, a glass or two of house white and good coffee with petit fours, made a very civilised lunch for no more than about 15 euros a head.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo de Piro, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Palazzo de Piro. We strive to provide our guests with the best customer service. Should you require any further information or have any queries please do not hesitate to contact me on marketing@xarapalace.com.mt.
Kind Regards
Heidi Pantzar
Marketing and PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Xpresso Cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

This review is about Xpresso Cafe which is housed in Palazzo Depiro.
It is our second visit to this cafe. We were impressed on our first visit during the medieval festival in Mdina. The second visit was a disappointment where we found that one of the cakes had green mould growing over it. Though the cake was reluctantly replaced, nobody bothered to make a proper apology or at least offer a discount. Second and sadly last visit.

Helpful?
Thank mriley_malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very fine little cafe in a beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is very fine building which works as the cultural centre for the Cathedral in Mdina. We only used it for the cafe - nice indoor and outdoor space, good quality drinks at a fair prize, and very nice washroom facilities. Would recommned

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Historrygrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo de Piro also viewed

 
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Palazzo de Piro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing