We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food.”
Review of Trattoria 1530

Trattoria 1530
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous food.”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We only called in once for a late lunch as we were staying at the Xsara Palace next door. We wish we had tried it again for dinner, but as we were only staying in Malta for five days we felt obligate to try other restaurants; you know how it is?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    200
    69
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swieqi
Level Contributor
111 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Heavenly pasta!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Stopped to have a light lunch at this place and we were very satisfied. The service was good and the rustic ambience was pleasant. The food was outstanding. I had garganelli with Maltese sausage while my wife had a salmon and bean salad. Definitely one to revisit soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malteser65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Decent pasta dishes, well located”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Part of the Xara palace hotel, we arrived at the restaurant during a storm. There were no seats initially, but the staff saw us waiting with the kids in the wet and they opened the upstairs section of the restaurant to accommodate us. The service was good in spite it being quite busy. We had pasta (ravioli and fettucine duck) both of which were tasty and large portions, which we shared between the four of us (two adults and two kids under 6 years). We also had the special Maltese plata that we were less enamoured by. In general, a good experience in a lovely city.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tired_travelling_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting venue and good plentiful food”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having learned that portions in Malta tend to be generous we ordered one pizza and two portions of garlic bread... Mistake! We got almost a baguette's worth of garlic bread between us as well as the bread that came along unexpectedly! We had to leave some of it unfortunately - it was very good garlic bread. The pizza base was a bit disappointing but maybe that's because we both prefer thin and crispy stone baked hand-stretched ones (fussy? Well sometimes!) however the topping was gorgeous. We had the porschetto pizza which was pulled pork, sausage and potato. Not the most obvious topping for a pizza but it was worth the risk! Scrumptious. The waiter was lovely and very accommodating when I requested a VERY hot coffee as it was rather cold despite the sun shining.
The restaurant itself has a lovely arched roof and displays of old tools which brought out the anorak engineer in my partner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurbeckPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming ambiance, best pizza”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Visited this restaurant recently and was very satisfied with the polite service and exquisite food. The pizza was one of the best I ever tasted! Will certainly visit again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria 1530 also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Trattoria 1530? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing