We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria 1530

Trattoria 1530
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Peterborough
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visited Malta a few years ago in June and ate here twice in a week as the setting was so perfect for summer evenings. Whilst visiting Malta last week, we were very keen to visit once again. As it was a cool and windy evening we had a table for four inside. We enjoyed the food and wine but unfortunately we chose a night when a top football game was being played and the television was on attracting the attention of many of the diners including our waiter! I did not think such an exclusive hotel would feel it necessary to have a television on whilst dining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Annieblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at Trattoria 1530, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at Trattoria AD 1530 and were unable to eat outside. I am very glad to hear that you came back to visit with us again after your last trip to Malta. I do apologize for the fact that you did not enjoy this time with us as you did your previous experience. I am sorry that the TV was on during the dinner, however I understand that night their was the final of the European Championships, and many diners wanted to watch this match.
We do hope to be able to redeem ourselves in the not too distant future.
Once again many thanks and kind regards
Nicola Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    189
    63
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Relaxing place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The food here is excellent particularly the garlic wild mushroom starter.
The setting is fantastic.
Most people make reservations so we were lucky to get a table without doing so.
Only reason I have not given 5 stars is that the service at the end of the meal was spoiled by one waiter only who got our bill wrong and wanted to argue about it. Our main waiter however was charming.
Would visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank royTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at Trattoria 1530, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at The Trattoria AD 1530. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the ambiance, food and service. We have taken note of your comment regarding the waiter and the bill and will be looking into this immediately.
We very much look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future!
With best wishes
Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved the food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Cosy restaurant in beautiful Mdina with excellent food. I had pizza and my partner had Caesar sallad and we both loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pyff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at Trattoria 1530, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your Pizza and Caesar Salad at Trattoria AD 1530. We look forward to welcoming you back shortly.
With best wishes
Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
319 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Maltese Atmosphere and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were very impressed, I thought that the food was a step up from Trattoria food. Four of us dined on local foods which were very well-prepared, delicious, actually. The atmosphere was one of simplicity and warmth. The service was professional and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at Trattoria 1530, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at Trattoria AD1530. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. We will be forwarding your kind words to the Trattoria Team! We look forward to welcoming you back shortly.
With best wishes
Nicola Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
145 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely location but not the best service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I went with friends for a light dinner at Trattoria restaurant, outside of the Xara Palace Hotel in Mdina and was a little disappointed.

The hotel is very special indeed in the old walled City of Mdina and I am told the De Mondion flagship restaurant is excellent.

But the Trattoria was not really up to 5 star standards, we sat outside in the terrace and the lighting / heating kept going off.

We had a light dinner starting with garlic bread and pasta as a main, the food was nice and well served, the red wine initially served was vinegary but they changed this straight away.

The young waiter who served us was very pleasant but the head waiter seemed to have a couldn’t care less attitude.

All that being said we had a nice night sat in a beautiful location and wined and dinned the evening away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RKHKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria 1530 also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
 

Been to Trattoria 1530? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing