We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch”

Sharma Ethnic Cuisines
Ranked #10 of 25 Restaurants in Mdina
Price range: $22 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Sharma is a popular restaurant in Mdina offering an eclectic mix of traditional cuisines from India, North Africa and the Mediterranean.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Excelent restaurant and service. Food came quick. It was tasty. Real Indian food. Everything we ate was delicious. We'll come back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DOLPHINAAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    199
    91
    48
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprise discovery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were in Mdina and looking for a vegetarian place. We came across Sharma's. Great location and ambiance was exceptional.

The food was not bad. (I was surprised). I come from Kenya and am spoilt for great Indian food. However the rest of our group loved the food.

I suggest you carry your own bottles of wine as they do not have a big selection of wine. They allow your own alcohol and charge a corkage.

We had also done some shopping at Mdina Glass and forgot the bags at the restaurant as we were leaving. I tried calling them the next day when i realised. The place had not opened and i dropped them an email. They were quick to respond and delivered our bags to our hotel. They did not charge for this and were amazing with the whole situation. (we offered to pay for delivery).

Thank-you guys for delivering our souvenirs. The gifts were well appreciated by friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raju B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Portions too small....hence a rip off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

They have good food and a good atmosphere, but they ruined it all with the small portions especially when you are paying €14 for some couscous and 2 small cubes pieces of lamb which are not worth more then €2!!

Get your portions right Sharma!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DiningOutMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“LAST MINUTE BOOKING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We booked late on a Saturday afternoon and received an auto confirmation within minutes.There were four of us having lunch on my niece's 18th Birthday since she fancied having Indian. We were absolutely not disappointed. The food was great and the service excellent. Apart from the food, we had soft drinks, including water and dessert. A reasonably priced foreign wine. Absolutely value for money for € 80+. Hope this was not a one off experience as we mean to visit in the future.
Well done guys.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zejtun
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Expectations..greater Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We went to Sharma because many were talking about it. The service was very good as well as the atmoshere. The food quality was also very good. However all of these were overcome because the quantity and the prices left much to be desired. Every item has a price for example the steamed veg came at Eur5.95 and turned out to be 2 slices marrow, 2 slices carrot and 2 small flowerets of cauliflower. The white sauce promisted was nowhere to be seen or tasted. The plain rice served in a small bowl was priced at Eur 3.95 which exorbitant. The meat and chicken portions were fair considering that we had to compensate for the lack of meat with naan bread. The deserts were not much either. The Gulap Jamun should be made with an almond in the middle but here it was missing. The mqaret had a trace of date filling but the Kulfi Malai was good. Overall we left disappointed when comparing what we paid against what we ate and we will certainly think twice before going to Sharma again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joanmifsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharma Ethnic Cuisines also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Sharma Ethnic Cuisines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing