We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming.”
Review of Old Priory Cafe - CLOSED

Old Priory Cafe
Restaurant details
Lisbellaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Charming.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This little place is beside the breathtaking Carmelite church (qv.)

It's in two ancient rooms, and we were seated quickly. We had the set menu - a bowl of stew plus a drink for ten euros. Excellent value.

Our waiter was charming too.

For a quick, good value lunch, look no farther in Mdina.

Tip; Do visit the crazy toilet!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A wonderful café in beautiful surroundings. Definitely worth a visit. Their salads are delicious and service with a smile.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vallettiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madliena
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This delightful eatery is within the Priory and you feel as if you are eating with the monks! Service a tad slow but the food is very reasonable priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeanBMadliena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice setting in this ancient building ,plenty of interest to keep you looking around and getting the feel of olden days ,and you get fed too !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irby Wirral
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unusual setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We really liked this cafe set in the old priory. Food reasonably priced. We just wanted a snack and my croque-monsieur washed down with a Kinnie was just the thing. High point was a visit to the loo - go on you know you have to go now to find out why!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BabsMcGinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Priory Cafe also viewed

 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing