We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, excellent food.”
Review of Il Gattopardo - CLOSED

Il Gattopardo
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: This restaurant is run by an anthropologist and his charming wife, Kristina. We produce home-made food with the highest quality local ingredients chosen by us daily. We serve our own blend and interpretation of Maltese, Mediterranean and Greek food - particularly a Greek-Maltese fusion cuisine, in affordable mezes and anti-pasti We have a wonderful orange tree roofed leafy courtyard, unpretentious in its decor but with an attractive, eclectic mix of 18th century works of art (including some ancien regime wall paper) and contemporary artworks. We run this restaurant partly as a hobby. We do not advertise ourselves on social media and prefer a small clientele who have the same antipathy for contemporary consumerist pretense and a liking for straightforward honesty as we do.
Genève, Suisse
Level Contributor
143 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice place, excellent food.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a lot this place. people are very kind. food is good. shade from the walls. strongly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank Frajel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    6
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious & Delightful”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Tired and hungry, our group of five collapsed into the cozy courtyard at Gattopardo for a late, light lunch and a glass (each) of wine. Service was prompt, willing, and helpful. We each chose a different item, and all were pleased and completely satisfied with our meals. I had the Tzatziki and Hummus and found them exceptionally good! I have eaten at Gattopardo several times in the past and have never been disappointed (except when they were fully booked and didn't have a table for me!).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CloeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The sausages are to die for. My favourite Maktese lunch and in a great setting.
This is the second time we have been, highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ceejayt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Avoid Tzatziki and Hummus”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We chose this restaurant because it didn't have the usual Pasta dishes on the menue. Moreover it looked nice and interesting from the outside.

The restaurant has a nice looking yard which, when warmer, is probably very nice to sit. We ordered some grilled Haloumi cheese, some Armenian sausages and hummus, olives and tzatziki. Our review for that: the sausages were really nice but the portion was really small and for that totally overpriced. The halloumi was just grilled halloumi and nothing special but the tzatziki too little oil, the yoghourt too thin and not enough spicing but too much garlic (in the tzatziki) and hummus (no spicing at all) were just awful. .

Maybe the other dishes are all nice. We don't know and we will probably not find out any time soon because the food we had is no reason to go there again - maybe the yard is when it gets warmer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koberecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely little informal restaurant”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We chanced on this restaurant at lunchtime. There were very few other diners, and so there was plenty of space for us in the charming courtyard garden at the back. We found the food perfectly good enough for a relaxing lunch, albeit not "fine dining". We were served by the owner, an interesting character who chatted to us. The courtyard was a mini-oasis on a hot day, though to be fair it might get a little cramped if there were a lot of diners. The Greek dishes added a touch of variety, and we enjoyed a leisurely and ample lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank PinkWellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gattopardo also viewed

 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing