We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Palace that makes you feel like a modern day Princess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Get a room with a jacuzzi on the private terrace. You will feel like a modern Princess as you look over the farmland and the traditional town below. Strong jacuzzi jets will make you happy that you are enjoying this architecturally preserved palace in modern time rather than being waited on by servants pouring hot water into your bath like the old days... The palace is quiet, has good service and food. Roaming around the walls is very pleasant and they many nice cafes, some with good views, to enjoy a coffee and pizza. Very romantic!

Room Tip: Room with jacuzzi!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalHouseguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your Suite with the Terrace and Jacuzzi. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 539 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very beautiful hotel in the lovely walled town of Mdina - sublime and very athmospheric

Will return again with my wife !

Plus parts

1. Mdina is special - small but very beautiful and very athmospheric - feels like you are in the middle ages walking its narrow streets surrounded by high battlements etc.

2. The Hotel is in the style of Mdina - very evocative of a middle ages structure - wide open corridors, high ceilings and courtyards etc.

3. Rooms are lovely with several built on a clever 'split level' type structure (seems like they took the older very high ceiling rooms and made a mezzanine floor in each).

4. Standard of rooms is good - solid western city 4-star (bathrooms) with aspects that are 5 star (beds and furnishings).

5. Rest of hotel is lovely with a very good 'fine dining' restaurant on top of the battlements and a good 'trattoria' in the courtyard.

6. Staff are very helpful and couldn't do enough for me - it was no problem organising transport, trips, getting recommendations etc.

Minus parts

1. Hotel is probably not a full-on 5-star due to the slightly aged fit-out - especially the bathrooms which are a little dated (white marble, gold taps etc.). I could make the same critism however about several well-regarded London 5-stars who have fallen behind in upgrades etc.

2. The Hotel also needs a more intimate bar / lounge (or library) area. What they have is the ground floor courtyard however the small bar there is not always manned and it feels more like being in the 'hallway' - I think that this would make a big difference to the feel of the property.

3. They also need stronger wi-fi. Coverage is reasonable but can drop off in the room. It is probably a function of the old walls (too thick!?).

Anyway - if you are in Malta, you should definately check this out

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. It is through our guest feedback that we are able to improve and perfect our service. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us as well as the ambiance of the hotel, the cuisine and service provided. Mdina is a magical city with lovely places to visit and experience.
We have taken note of your salient points raised and are looking at improving the situation with regards atmosphere in the Atrium and Wifi.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Many thanks and kind regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent a week in this hotel and loved every minute of it. It is an ancient palazzo which has been turned in to a luxurious and beautiful hotel. The Atrium is such a lovely place to sit and relax, the bedrooms are of a very high standard with the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in! The service we received was excellent, nothing was too much trouble and always done with a smile! I cannot recommend it highly enough. Another great plus were the views over Malta which were breathtaking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lettice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is through our guest feedback that we are able to improve and perfect our service.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us, from the ambiance of the rooms, to the breathtaking views of the island, and the service provided by The Xara team!
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With kind regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed one night in November 2012 and had a room with a jacuzzi on the terrace looking out across Malta - absolutely perfect! The restaurant is also superb, highly recommend. Parking your car out front is certainly entertaining!

Room Tip: Terrace and jacuzzi make this place amazing!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickansc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Xara Palace. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and dining at our fine dining restaurant de Mondion. We very much look forward to welcoming you back shortly.
Kind regards
Nicola Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is not a hotel is an experience! There's not a lot of rooms....The restaurant is excellent too with a very nice view from the city! Mdna is inside of the walls, and the hotel is part of this wall, so is an historical hotel with a very good service. All the decoration of the hotel is beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Kind regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We travelled to Malta over Christmas 2012, and this hotel (although not cheap!) is absolutely wonderful. Our room, or should I say suite, was very nice with a private terrace and jacuzzi with a 180 degree view of half of Malta towards Valetta, spectacular. The staff couldn't do enough for us without being obsequious, there's a very good small restaurant, the De Mondion, which has won more awards than you can shake the proberbial stick at and they are well deserved. Doubt if you could eat there every night as the food is very sumptuous and quite expensive, but to balance the books there's a trattoria attached to the hotel in the lovely court yard where you can have anything from a fantastic ribeye to a pizza. The medieval fortified town of Mdina, or The Silent City, is sublime, kept so clean and tidy without the, sadly ubiquitous, graffiti and you can stroll the narrow winding streets and imagine being back in those far off days of the 17 century. There are several rastaurants within the city walls and they all seem of a high standard, also some very interesting historical houses, palaces and churchs with Malta's first cathedral based in the main square. Can't recommend this hotel more highly!

Room Tip: They're all very good, although I'm going on hearsay, there are only 17 rooms, we had room 1...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rugbnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Sir
I would like to take this opportunity for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. We are indeed very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experiences at both the de Mondion and the Trattoria AD 1530, as well as the magical setting of Mdina.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With best wishes
Nicola Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were invited to a friends 40th Wedding Celebration at The Xara Palace and we decided as we live in Malta to stay the night. I telephoned the hotel anf got a special price of 130 euros for a standard Duplex room this price was without breakfast, We arrived in the afternoon and were asked to sit in the courtyard which is inside under cover as we could not check in until 3pm even though we were told there were very few guests. We were given a form to complete and asked if we would like a welcome drink, before we could answer the welcome drink that was offered was a glass of 'Kinny' which is Malta's answer to coca cola, come on this is a five star hotel and if this is the best they can do forget it. A glass of mulled wine would have been nice at Christmas. We were shown to our room which was very nice and comfortable no problems there, The gentleman that took us to our room then told us that we probably would not be able to have breakfast in the restuarant the following morning because they only had a few guests and we would have to have it served in our room. Later I checked at reception and this information was correct, the lady on the desk continued to tell me that they would waiver the service charge for bringing it to the room. they had shut the restuarant to us so why on earth would they charge to bring it to the room anyway. We did not want to eat in our room so we checked out and found breakfast elsewhere. The finger food in the evening was excellent. Our overall experience of this hotel is that they stick rigidly to rules and appear mean. this is not our experience at other 5 star hotels of which we have frequented all over the world.

Room Tip: Expensive for a room with a view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndabeckwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Madam
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Xara Palace, and for taking the time to review your experience. It is through our guests feedback that we are able to improve and perfect our service.
I am very disappointed to hear that your experience with us was marred due to the fact that we were unable to serve breakfast in the Restaurant. There was certainly no intention to disrupt your stay with us and we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the Celebration party and the selection of canapes.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Xara Palace in the not too distant future.
With best regards
Nicola Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mdina
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.6 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,479 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,245 reviews
5.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux

Address: Misrah Il-Kunsill Citta Nobile, Mdina, Island of Malta MDN 1050, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mdina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mdina
Price Range: $157 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux has 17 Rooms and Suites, all vary in size and style. Some of the Suites have Jacuzzis on their private terrace with spectacular views of the island. The Duplex rooms and Suites offer split level accommodation with the lounge area and private facilities on one level and bedroom services on the other level of the Room or Suite. Outdoor pool is available in an alternative location and shuttle service is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Xara Palace Relais And Chateaux
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux Hotel Mdina
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux Malta/Mdina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing