We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large rental with so much history and character”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of No 15.

view into courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view into courtyard
Heated Plunge-Pool/Jacuzzi courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
view into courtyard
Heated Plunge-Pool/Jacuzzi
courtyard
courtyard
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Morning Room
morning room
Hallway
Staircase
Hallway/Entrance to Morning Room
Mill Room
Upstairs Landing
roof terrace
roof terrace - view to sea
Roof terrace
roof terrace - view to mdina
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
Mdina at night
Back Door
Local beach Golden Bay
Square and St Pauls church in Rabat
View from roof
Mdina Gates
Local beach
Local restaurant in Mdina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mdina, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
TeresaFly
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large rental with so much history and character”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We rented this property last year for a week. The property is over 4 floors, the 4th being the roof terrace. It is cool and had everything we needed. Mdina is a 5 minute walk. Rabat is lovely. We had a religious festival on the go, and it was very exciting. Lovely plunge pool to keep you cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H
1 review
“Magnificent House”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Pro's: Comfortable, clean. Lot's of linens, towels and even beach towels. Beds are very comfortable. lots of room in the house to relax and for privacy. Shopping, restaurants close by, steps away from the City Center and Mdina Main Gate. Very centrally located. Bus lines close by. Air conditioning in 3 of the 4 bedrooms. Salvo the Care taker is a wonderful and friendly man and is always happy to help or answer questions.

Con's: Not enought lighting in the kitchen. Very dark and hard to see what you are cooking. Espresso pot not usable-rotten, coffee pot would have been great. Tea kettle also rotten. Freezer on the roof floor not in the kitchen. Lack of pots and pans for cooking. No grill available as listed. No Air Conditioning on the main floor.

We would still rent the house again. Hopefully the Con's will be fixed. Also, no WiFi. It was difficult to use the internet, the cafe's did not always have WiFi. would have been happy to pay more for intranet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara T
London
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique House/Castle Experience”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at this charming and unique property for a week, 2 adults a 10 year old and 17 year old.

The property is huge! The pictures are exact and honest. The house is old so take that into account when booking as that's part of the character of your holiday.

We didn't cook but we're pleased to have a snack & milk on arrival. There are plenty of utensils and crockery if needed.

The morning room is very sweet.

The lounge was good for evening films, you need to take own DVDs,the only downside was there is a small sofa and 2 chairs so you may need to bring other chairs in for a larger family to sit.

Plenty of toilets/bathrooms which were fully equipped with beautiful fixtures (plenty of loo roll too!)

The bedrooms were comfy, plenty of towels and linen. We didn't use the downstairs bedroom, this is a single on its own.

Each room has an oil heater which were needed for the time of year.

The outside upstairs area was beautiful although I only went up to do washing it really was stunning.

The garage is handy but take note that it fits a small car only.

Our favourite was most certainly the courtyard! The plunge pool was lovely and we used it every day. We enjoyed eating and drinking in the courtyard and reading while dipping in and out of the pool.

The property was like no other we have stayed in and you certainly can't compare it to anything modern. As a family we had a lovely time.

The area is full of wonderful streets and little coffee shops, the atmosphere is authentic malteese. Located perfectly to Mdina Gate which is a must see!! Plus the Roman Villa. We travelled around the whole island and you are never really longer than 30 mins from the house to anywhere on the mainland island so a perfect location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Len H
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Charming old house”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It took a while to find the house and we almost got stuck in an alley following Google maps. The friendly neighbours advised us how to go with the car. It took a while to get the keys. It was a neighbour who had them. He was very kind and showed us around. He forgot to point out how to put on the Jacuzzi, but I found out where the control was in the garage. Actually, it is not a Jacuzzi, more like a little whirlpool without bubbles. Anyway, it was very hot weather and unfortunately only one out of three inverters worked. The second one managed to lower the temp from 37C to 34C and the third one did not work at all. However, after some days we acclimatized and managed well. It is a very old house with a good atmosphere. We really liked it. It is a bit pricy and we expected more for to say that is value for money.The owner was thoughtful to bring us the “first day of supply” of water, bread, butter, coffee and tea, which we replaced before we left. All the amenities that were promised were in place. There are three bathrooms in the house, which is good when one has three women in the family. Some suggestions for improvement or to think about being a guest: Get directions if you have a car, so that you will enter from the right direction. The garage is small and we had to reverse to back in the car otherwise the spoiler in the front of the car would break. There are two openings covered with towels/blankets, make sure it stays closed because otherwise you will have a ton of flies around. Some lightbulbs were broken, so make sure that you put on the ones that are working, so that you will find your way around. There is no Wi-Fi and the reception is poor. The neighbour has Wi-Fi so it shouldn’t be a problem to fix it. If it is very warm, there is a roof terrace that is nice if the weather is a bit windy. It is a good location from where to explore Malta. We went around Malta to at least two beaches and two sights every day. There is an ATM at a petrol station close and it is useful because many places (except restaurants) only accept cash. Ask where the trash should be left and when and how the recycle system works. Take a walk to Mdina, as well. It is worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cozy atmosphere
Liked least: That we could not regulate the climate
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Hi Len
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your review.

For the Wifi we don't advertise this deliberately, as its not available. As you said you can pick up my neighbours and all establishments locally have wifi.

I did give direction both google maps and also how to drive around the 1 way, when I sent your arrival details.

The garage is small but if you cant manage there is also parking just to the front.

I will inform my neighbour to fix any bulbs. They were all long life bulbs and were all working when we were last there a few weeks ago.

For the jacquizi pool there is a separate switch for the jets. For other guests info the pool man comes on a Thursday morning if you have any questions for him.

I didn't understand the 2 openings and flies, but I would say that it is a hot climate and we do get them at times

Many Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley m
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our second trip to this property and it is one of the best we have ever stayed and found in Malta.We are quite frequent visitors to the island. We fell in love with this house when we stayed last year. The last time we were there was a problem with the pool, but this time everything was working perfectly. The pool even has heating which was really nice as the weather at this time of year is quiet varied we had a high of 20C and a low of 16C so be aware at this time of the year. Everything else was just like last time and the house is a really old typical Malta gem. Please also be aware that the house was a little cold at times, probably due to the climate, however the owners have provided electric oil heaters and we had to leave these on full time during our stay. This home is highly recommended and we might be back again during the summer as l do have some business to attend that occasionally takes us over to Malta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall feel of the property
Liked least: was a bit cold at this time of the year
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
thank you for your kind review

the pool is fully operational for 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley m
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic castle like home”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We recently stayed in this property for a long weekend. This house is by far the best that we have stayed in to date in Malta.
The house was very clean and the quality of the furnishings and décor is outstanding.
We lit candles in the evenings and together with the lighting from the wall and table lamps meant it felt like we were living in a medieval castle.
The kitchen and adjacent dining area are very well presented with plenty of sitting and fully equipped, very different feel to what we have in London. A previous guest/comment mentioned the kitchen lighting but we actually found that we needed to reduce the lighting somewhat to get the full dramatic lighting effect.
The owners even provide items for the beach such as towels, umbrellas and deck chairs.
Our only disappointment was that the pool is not operating, but the owners had let us know about this before our stay.
We have already booked our Christmas vacation to stay again and we would absolutely recommend this holiday home to anybody else looking to book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall feel of the home
Liked least: wifi would have been a bonus, but to be fair was not advertised
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJacquet
Paris, France
1 review
“Nice old maltese house for family holidays”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent 10 days in Mdina in October in this house and all the family was really happy to discover Malta through such a traditional stone house. Only 1 point to be improved : wifi could be useful !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: wifi absent
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing