We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Mesquita

Don Mesquita
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Le Langon, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent a day walking around the beautiful town of Mdina, and to our delight, found a wonderful little gem of a place to have lunch in the old town. Don Mesquita is situated in a lovely little courtyard. The place is small but the welcome is huge. There is a varied choice of food, from light snacks to full meals. We settled on a Maltese platter to share, this is a must to get a taste of Malta, it was delicious. It consisted of stuffed green olives, maltese sausage, sundried tomatoes, salad, feta and goats cheese, bigilla (butter bean & garlic paté, very yummy) and beautiful homemade crusty bread, all washed down with a very nice Merlot. We spent an extremely enjoyable moment there and this memory will stay with us as one of the our highlights of our holiday in Malta.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linbar0559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    67
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gem of a wine bar - great lunch and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stumbled across this place wondering round Mdina and had a lovely Maltese platter lunch with a glass of wine and a split a warmed up honey ring for dessert. Lovely atmosphere, generous hosts, only criticism of the quality of the food was that the bigilla was a little bland. Good attention to detail. Good value - we throughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, null, Malta
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent wine bar & A+ Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We where lookng for a different wine bar and i came across this one. It is situated in a small 'pjazetta' in Mdina and the ambience is really nice & cosy. Platters where great, we took the Maltese & Italian for one person and there was quite a large portion, wine was good too (however a larger choice of wine would be appreciated). What can i say about the owner and his assistant? They where really friendly and treated us like family. Surley worth another visit!! Keep up the good work!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guimaraes, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Optimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Good variety of dishes, a very beautiful space and very well located, great sympathy and helpfulness of everyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a treasure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just back from a weeks holiday on Malta. Visited Mdina and came accross this lovely restaurant. Lovely food and lovely people. Excellant background music! We were with friends and had the 'platters' for lunch. 'Yummy' Well worth the visit to Medina and the restaurant was an added bonus on a hot sunny day.
Debby & Geoff

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Mesquita also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Don Mesquita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing