We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy place, glad there's a view”

Fontanella Tea Garden
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
134 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Busy place, glad there's a view”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I do love this restaurant, and no matter how busy it is, and even though at times I get so frustrated waiting, I keep returning to this place, year after year. And for this, I blame the view, and the cakes they have, which are so hard to resist. Last night, we were a party of 6, we ordered a mix of hot and cold drinks, and 3 cakes. The order was taken quite fast, but we had to wait for I believe, over 30 minutes to be served. It's true that we were in no hurry, but 30 minutes for a drink and cakes sometimes does sound like a long time. But as soon as my cake arrived (lemon cheese cake), I have realised it was all worth the wait... and they I shall be returning, perhaps closer to winter.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteffiGrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,886
    1,441
    430
    108
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not great service”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The seats are in a flower garden and you order at your table, but it took ages for the food to arrive. We all ordered baguettes and they were the usual thing: ham and cheese, tuna etc. A nice place to sit and relax, but nothing special.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank happyessextraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A proper tea garden with a great view”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We were so lucky to get a table by the wall where the view is fantastic! And the cakes were very nice, with big slices. The atmosphere is great, even though it's a busy place. I suppose it helps a great deal that it's situated in Mdina - I totally fell in love with this medieval, fanscinating city.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Siv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for a light snack”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Fantastic views from the terrace, good food and drink, after strolling around Mdina. This will be very popular with someone with a sweet tooth, as the sweets are delicious!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HeatherColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always visit Fontanella”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Trips to Fontanella are part of every trip we take to Malta and there are many. The coffee is very good the cakes are splendid (if a little oversweet but try the apple) Lots of choice for lunch all freshly prepared. Try the f'tira, Maltese bread is a wonderful experience! Fine choice of shakes smoothies and juices. Great views over much of the island. Sometimes you need to be a little patient, Fontanella is very popular with locals as well as tourists. Service is professional. It's a must do!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontanella Tea Garden also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Fontanella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing