We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View”

Fontanella Tea Garden
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Fontanella Tea Garden was recommended for the view. We visited for lunch and found a perfect table on the roof overlooking beautiful Maltese landscapes. The food was very fresh - the Salmon and Shrimp salad was more "goodies" than salad (and I'm not complaining!). Lots of smoked salmon, baby shrimp, and cheese. The baguettes are enormous. Baked fresh when ordered and full of toppings. Save room for dessert and be prepared to share, the portions are huge. The chocolate cake was the highlight. The cheesecake is not a typical cheesecake but a Maltese style (more whipped cream than dense cheese). Go early as it is hard to get a table with a view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,935
    1,474
    444
    110
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

The view from the upstairs terrace is amazing! The service and food were very good and I found the prices to be very reasonable for ab busy tourist destination.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in a delightful courtyard setting”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

During our week's stay in Malta we visited Fontanella tea garden twice, and both times were very satisfied with our meal. I tried the Ftira, a traditional Maltese delicacy, and absolutely loved it - it is a delicious tuna meal served between 2 slices of crusty bread. I have also tried the iced vanilla coffee which is wonderful, especially on a hot day. My husband had the traditional Maltese cheese pastry (sorry I've forgotten the name!) which was the best he tasted, and the carrot cake was also wonderful. We decided to sit in the courtyard both times, which we preferred, as it was a bit windy upstairs and we found the courtyard so relaxing and delightful. Also, we went mid-afternoon so it was a bit less hectic than at lunch-time or dinner-time. Unfortunately the restaurant does tend to get assailed with the tourist crowds, so a bit of patience and understanding is necessary.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best views of Mdina whilst relaxing with great cake!!!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stunning views of Malta, great prices and most importantly, Great Cakes!! Friendly staff and a pretty environment, a must stop destination if you visit the Silent City!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great views, great cakes”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

If visiting Mdina do get yourself to Fontanella, they are famous for their cakes. Nice staff will provide you with anything you need, coffee is good,their pastizzi are great and cakes brilliant. I really enjoyed busking in the sun and relaxing over some great food and fabulous views.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontanella Tea Garden also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Fontanella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing