We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance, good food, nice staff”
Review of Ciappetti - CLOSED

Ciappetti
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
“Great ambiance, good food, nice staff”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant has lovely patio with very cosy atmosphere. We had ravioli with cheese as a starter, rabbit stew as main course, and creme brule as dessert. Ravioli was delicious, topped with aromatic olive oil with fresh herbs. The rabbit and the dessert were also tasty. The staff was friendly and the overall impression was superb. Plus the prices were reasonable. Both me and my friend were glad we picked this place for a dinner in Mdina.

Helpful?
Thank Ola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    166
    36
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality food, Quality setting”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Found this gem of a restaurant while visiting Mdina. Gluten free menu and staff who had knowledge of this condition. If you want fast food find a takeaway. Order your food, have a drink and enjoy the character and charm of the restaurant. Staff friendly, food excellent all at a very reasonable price. If you visit Mdina, eating here is a must.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes Uk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic and authentic food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The picturesque courtyard is a beautiful setting for lunch. We had rabbit livers and pasta with rabbit - both simple but fantastic - would go back again and eat the same again!
Service is friendly - seen some other comments on tripadvisor re service ...the food did take a little while to come but that to me is a positive - if we wanted fast food, then we would have found fast food outlet.
The main courses were also good value for money. So Ciappetti gets 5 out of 5.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_T_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gluten free restaurant in Mdina”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Saw an advertisement in the Air Malta magazine on the flight to Malta and decided to give Ciappetti a try when in Mdina, as it was highlighting the fact that it serves gluten free food - just let them know and they will advise accordingly. It was good to get GF bread and to be able to eat without worrying about this - hence my review, to highlight this aspect to others who need a GF menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EditorialTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ex pat in Ct
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hidden away in one of the side alleys in Mdina we had the best meal of our Maltese trip. Small and unpretentious with amazing food at very reasonable prices. We chose to have dinner there and were not disappointed - my husband had the local rabbit stew and I had chicken with honey and herbs which was exquisite. You can eat indoors, we preferred to eat ouside in the vine covered courtyard. Highly recommend

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MsDeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciappetti also viewed

 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing