We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ciappetti - CLOSED

Ciappetti
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cheshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A must find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Tucked away in one of the myriad alleys Ciappetti is a must to find. We came across it more by accident. An oasis of serene calm and cool shade. Excellent cuisine with some wonderfully attentive staff. A sense of genuine interest in who you are and where you are from. No rush, no hassle and a real sense of being made welcome. Be warned though, unaccompanied children will be sold as slaves - bliss!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sleep_deprived_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    166
    36
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Since Mdina is such a popular spot for tourists, we didn't expect too much from the restaurants here. We picked Ciappetti based on its pleasant, outside garden eating area and the fact that the menu looked more traditionally Maltese than a lot of other places around. We were delighted with the food; we shared stuff squid, a Maltese platter and caprese salad between three of us. The platter had lovely cheese and sausage and other Maltese delights, many of which was as nice or nicer than a lot that I've had in the six months I've lived on the island. The squid was very nice as well, as was the salad. The garden was a lovely place to sit and all and all we had a lovely time. I give Ciappetti four stars instead of five as the service could have been a bit faster and the food wasn't five star worthy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
207 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food but small quantities.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The restaurant has a nice terrace to eat. I ate stuffed squid and as a dessert creme caramel.The food is good and well cooked but quantities are small for the price. Service is too slow.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miki_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We chose this restaurant from taking a photo of its beautiful courtyard as we passed on our lovely slow exploration of this uniquely gorgeous 'silent' city. I am so glad we did! The setting is truly delightful, sitting in that sun-filled courtyard was magical, and the sense of tranquility and timelessness was overwhelming-----we could have stayed all day!!! We chose chicken in orange honey sauce (having purchased some of this delightful honey the day before) and it was superb. Not expensive in global terms, and nicely presented, with great-tasting vegetables ( so often the downfall of a meal!) To top off a superb experience, we were offered a free limoncello each----my favourite liqueur--truly sunshine in a glass!! Do try it, you won't be disappointed I'm sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Dining excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Whilst on a day out at Rabat we wandered over to Mdina where we came across this delightful little restaurant and decided to take lunch.
We had 4 large beers, 2 bottles of wine and 4 main courses and the bill came to 96 Euros.
The food was absolutely top drawer, beautifully presented and the staff very attentive and customer focussed.
We ordered Pork Fillets, Bragioli and Lamb Shank and we all agreed the food was superb.
We will be returning next week to repeat the experience, need we say more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciappetti also viewed

 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing