We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty but not memorable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marsaxlokk Bay

Marsaxlokk Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.09*
and up
City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty but not memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Marsaxlokk is a pretty fishing village with a small market that during the week sells, "souvenirs," in the form of aprons, tea towels and table cloths etc but on a Sunday also sells fresh fish. Not much else happening here when we were there. Had a cool drink and a tasty slice of cake in one of the several waterfront cafes before undertaking the long journey back to St Paul's Bay via Valletta, used public transport. If it is part of a tour you are making of the area then stop off but don't make our mistake of going there purposely, as in our opinion, it offers nothing of interest.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulineandJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    786
    705
    238
    57
    30
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Prettiest fishing village in Malta?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were told about how pretty this place was so a quick bus trip from our hotel in Valletta was on the cards. We weren't disappointed, as the pretty small fishing boats (luzzu) bobbing in the bay certainly make for a picturesque setting. Inevitably, there are the processions of tourist coaches (it's on all the daytrip itineraries, of course) and the subsequent tented alley of market stalls along the front but this actually helps to add to the quaint charm of the place, in my view. Further along, the bayside outdoor restaurants tempt you with their catch of the day or the cheap drink and muffin offer, so it's nice to sit down and wile the time away watching the goings on on the water.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Earlier it was fishing village. Of course nowadays it's mostly a tourist place. Very interesting, everywhere are luzzos (this is Maltese Fishing boat) - they are many-coloured. In Marsaxlokk everywhere is fish smell.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlenkaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Marsaxlokk market and view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

In Masaxlokk there is an open market every day. Many stalls buying all what you want, As it is situated near the sea side you can enjoy a beautiful view and also take some refreshments in a bar or restaurant

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maurice57_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“day trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Did the Sunday market sadly it was a wet start so the trip from melliah bay took 90 minutes We are used to fish where we live but was nice to see different varieties large Tuna and a sword fish plenty of squid and octopus plus many more local caught fish Plenty of fruit and veg on show but some of the souvenirs on sale were just so tacky Was some very nice table cloths which we purchased Drinks at the cafes were quite reasonable I even had my first Kinnie a local Maltese drink a couple of hours there is long enough though. I took a few photos whilst I was there of the market and boats was disappointed to see so much rubbish around the place The trip back took an hour im not a lover of buses anywhere in fact the last time I was on a bus in Malta was 1969 they were real buses then

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marsaxlokk Bay also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Marsaxlokk Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing