We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Live as the Maltese do!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pisces

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Stuart M
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Live as the Maltese do!”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

For a true Maltese experience his rustic and charming small apartment was a great find. First, the property is in a wonderful location with great views of St Georges Bay from the balcony and we spent many hours watching the locals bringing their small boats in and out of the water. While the Freeport is just around the corner you wouldn’t know it was their! Thank you so much to Alice who made us feel welcome and left the breakfast basics in the fridge for our arrival. There are a few shops in the area and also a couple of OK restaurants. Marsaxlokk is close by with a great selection of restaurants; we even walked round their one day, although the bus is a good bet too. The apartment itself is basic – all you need but nothing more – but that’s really the whole point.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanessa d
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Great apartment. Great views. Good value.”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
8
people found this review helpful

I booked this apartment through Tripadvisor (which was cancelled and had to be rebooked after several telephone calls and emails) and the communication with Alice was fantastic. We were met by Alice in Marsaxlokk and driven to the apartment about 10 minutes away.

The apartment is in Birzebugga overlooking St. Georges Bay, which is lovely, full of traditional Maltese fishing boats. It has a lovely sandy beach around the corner, a few restaurants and bars a few minutes walk away and a great Convenience store.

The apartment itself has a large kitchen/lounge area when you walk in which is cosy and has a large window overlooking the bay. It is very well equipped! Kitchen has all the pots, pans and implements you could wish for. We stayed in and cooked about 3 evenings and it had everything we needed. Large TV and free wifi too. The bathroom is a good size with a great shower! The water was always hot and a nice airy feel to it. The bedroom is a good size with huge wardrobe, dressing table, comfiest bed ever, ironing board and hair dryer. Lots of sockets and converters cover everything you will need. There is a double door leading to the upstairs terrace area, which has a bbq, table, chairs and an amazing view of the bay. (Stairs are a small metal steep staircase, bit scary, but just take your time). The apartment itself is very warm, but all doors and windows open so you can adjust accordingly.

We did not hire a car, but bought two weekly bus passes at 21 euros each which enabled us to travel all over the island without worrying about cost or change. There is a bus stop right outside the apartment which takes you to the airport (X4 or 119 - 14 minutes) where you can then catch a bus to anywhere on the island. Or you can take a left out of the apartment and walk around the bay to the Convenience store and there is a bus stop on the other direction where you can get the bus to Marsaxlokk (119 - 15 minutes) or Valletta (82 - 25 minutes) There are other buses in and out of Birzebugge, like the 81 & 85, but these visit other villages and take longer. We just got the 82 to Valletta and back, this seemed the quickest. We went to Gozo for the day and took the 82 to Valletta, then the 42 to Gozo, this is nearly 1.5 hours. However, if you get the 119 (outside the apartment) to the airport, then the X3 to Gozo, it's direct and a lot quicker!! Wherever you travel on the buses, you get to see lots, so it does not really matter. Last bus to Birzebugga from Valletta was 10.40pm.

Gozo was lovely, we arrived and got the ferry around lunch time, 4.65 euro each return. We then paid 10 euro for the Citysightseeing bus and spent the next couple of hours travelling around the whole island. We got off at Dwerja Bay (Apparently, Game of Thrones was filmed there) which was really unusual and Marsalforn Bay which was nice, but quiet. We then returned on the ferry back to the main island and started our journey back. Well worth a visit.

We walked to Marsaxlokk a couple of times or you can get the bus outside the convenience store (takes 10 minutes). There is a good market there, best day is Sunday where it is full of fresh fish, vegetables and fruit along with the normal stalls that are there in the week. This closes around 5pm, when all the restaurants set up there tables on the promenade. There are a few restaurants, but as we stayed the last week in November, they shut really early and there is hardly anybody around. At the height of the season, these will be open until around midnight.

We went to the Popeye Village (119 - Airport / X3 - Luna / 101 - Popeye). So pretty! It's built in it's own little bay and definitely worth a visit. 10 euros each, free postcard, free drink in a bar and a boat ride. Got roped into making a popeye movie and dressing up, but it was hilarious and we have the dvd! (7 euros).

Visited the Blue Grotto which is near to Birzebugga but difficult to get to. (119 to airport - 201 Grotto) Took around an hour. When we got there the caves were closed and the boats finished for the season, which is end of October. But, nice to wander around the shops and we had a coffee, then took some nice pictures, so worth the visit. Buses only come back once an hour so time it right.

We found everywhere really cheap. We were paying around 1 euro for tea/coffee in bars, 3 euros for a large Cisk Lager and a glass of red wine and food was all reasonably priced too. We got a bottle of wine to take home from the local convenience store and it was 2.30 euros for Shiraz!! Never expected it to be this cheap, but pleasantly surprised.

All in all, a great apartment, probably overlooking one of the prettiest bays on the island. Eating and drinking out is pretty cheap, the people are really friendly and we would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessfran2...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite place in Malta!”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a week's stay in Pisces and cannot fault it! Alice, the owner, is very attentive to the needs of her guests and has lots of patience! The house itself is in a picturesque setting and the views from the roof terrace are the best! There are local shops and places to eat within walking distance. Something for everybody really! Bus stops are close by for those not wishing to hire a car. It was good to get back to Pisces after a day sightseeing as the house is very cool but welcoming. Hope to return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: Nothing really!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy039
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky, ideal position and great owners”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fab week here in March. The house has everything you need for a great stay. The owner Alice is friendly and communication by email both when booking and when here is excellent. The steps up to the balcony area, which is lovely overlooking the harbour, are steep, more like a stepladder, but worth it when you get up there. The freeport blights the landscape somewhat but you get used to it. We ate really well at Ferrari (twice) and at the harbour restaurants just a bus ride away in Marsaxlokk. Went somewhere every day and back in the evening for lovely meals. Only disappointing eatery was Seeds, which has high ratings on tripadvisor but we had an awful meal there, frozen and fried to death food. Don't expect loads of places to shop and if we came again we would hire a car I think and get up to the north of the island more. Overall a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va_yankee...
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The apartment was perfect for a couple. Securing the rental agreement with Alice was very easy and we greatly appreciated her meeting us at the airport and taking us to the apartment (10 minutes). The apartment was exactly as described and quite comfortable; it was a rainy week and we couldn't enjoy the deck (but the view was delightful). There are a couple of markets and restaurants (including Ferretti,our favorite of the trip) within easy walking distance. There is a bus stop just out front and Valetta is just a 10-15 minute ride. A week's pass was just 6 euro and it is easy to get all over the island including our favorite activity - Gozo segways (check it out!) Alice was a delight to work with, responding to emails promptly and accommodating us however she could. We really appreciated the goodie package she had waiting for us! We have rented apartments in Europe and the US and this was a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - off the beaten track but still easy to get to everything
Liked least: was unusually cold and heat didn't work...but that wouldn't be a problem for most people
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va_yankee...
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The apartment was perfect for a couple. Securing the rental agreement with Alice was very easy and we greatly appreciated her meeting us at the airport and taking us to the apartment (10 minutes). The apartment was exactly as described and quite comfortable; it was a rainy week and we couldn't enjoy the deck (but the view was delightful). There are a couple of markets and restaurants (including Ferretti,our favorite of the trip) within easy walking distance. There is a bus stop just out front and Valetta is just a 10-15 minute ride. A week's pass was just 6 euro and it is easy to get all over the island including our favorite activity - Gozo segways (check it out!) Alice was a delight to work with, responding to emails promptly and accommodating us however she could. We really appreciated the goodie package she had waiting for us! We have rented apartments in Europe and the US and this was a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: temperatures were lower than usual and heater didn't work, but this won't affect most people
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermes197...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Off the tourist trail”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
5
people found this review helpful

This property is a traditional Maltese type cottage, it is both spacious and quirky, we really enjoyed our time there. Alice picked us up from the airport and gave us a tour around the locality, there was a welcome pack of groceries when we arrived and a transfer back to the airport at the end helped to make it a stress free holiday. It is a good base from which to explore this end of the island with a good bus service, we bought a 7 day bus ticket 6.5 euros, excellent value! There are good shops and eateries nearby and in Pretty bay, Marsaxlokk is a 10 minute bus ride away where there are many places serving fresh fish dishes. Everywhere we went we found the people to be very friendly and helpful, they don't get a lot of foriegn tourists in this area. Be aware there are steps and the ones up to the balcony are very steep if you have mobility problems.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing