We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Off the tourist trail”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pisces

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
va_yankee...
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The apartment was perfect for a couple. Securing the rental agreement with Alice was very easy and we greatly appreciated her meeting us at the airport and taking us to the apartment (10 minutes). The apartment was exactly as described and quite comfortable; it was a rainy week and we couldn't enjoy the deck (but the view was delightful). There are a couple of markets and restaurants (including Ferretti,our favorite of the trip) within easy walking distance. There is a bus stop just out front and Valetta is just a 10-15 minute ride. A week's pass was just 6 euro and it is easy to get all over the island including our favorite activity - Gozo segways (check it out!) Alice was a delight to work with, responding to emails promptly and accommodating us however she could. We really appreciated the goodie package she had waiting for us! We have rented apartments in Europe and the US and this was a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: temperatures were lower than usual and heater didn't work, but this won't affect most people
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermes197...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Off the tourist trail”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
5
people found this review helpful

This property is a traditional Maltese type cottage, it is both spacious and quirky, we really enjoyed our time there. Alice picked us up from the airport and gave us a tour around the locality, there was a welcome pack of groceries when we arrived and a transfer back to the airport at the end helped to make it a stress free holiday. It is a good base from which to explore this end of the island with a good bus service, we bought a 7 day bus ticket 6.5 euros, excellent value! There are good shops and eateries nearby and in Pretty bay, Marsaxlokk is a 10 minute bus ride away where there are many places serving fresh fish dishes. Everywhere we went we found the people to be very friendly and helpful, they don't get a lot of foriegn tourists in this area. Be aware there are steps and the ones up to the balcony are very steep if you have mobility problems.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nedct58
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed in October. The weather was great with lots to see and do. Hiring a car is essential so we were able to visit lots of places including Gozo which is very pretty. The apartment is a good size and contains everything needed with local shops 2 minutes away. We ate every evening in Marsaxalokk where there are a number of restaurants offering food both local and a la carte. The view from the roof terrace was brilliant over looking the bay. Excellent value for money. We were picked up and taken back to the airport by the owners which was unexpected but really appreciated especially as our flight arrived late in the evening. Our thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof terrace and Marsaxlokk
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. Regards Alice and Leo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySta...
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
5
people found this review helpful

This was our first independent holiday and Alice & Leo couldn't have made it easier or more enjoyable for us, from booking to arrival in Malta.

The house has everything you could need and the views from the roof terrace are stunning, like a moving canvas (The stairs are a bit steep so care needs to be taken, but definitely worth it.)

Locals really friendly and there are lots of nice places to eat and drink. Try Seeds as the food is excellent (dont be put off by the outside).

Pretty bay is what it says even though you look at a container port, kept us amused for hours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof Terrace and views
Liked least: Kettle (on gas hob, not electric)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2013
It was a great pleasure hosting you. We are glad you liked our place and hope to see you again in the future :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Low number of restaurants in Birżebuġa
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 22, 2013
Thanks Rob for your positive comments. It was nice to host you and your wife and I hope to see you again. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jamesjaw
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LEO our owner was so,so helpful”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I was late for a appointment in Gozo and was unsure if i would make the ferry port on time and then without hesitation Leo said he would take me there which was a lot further than id thought, to the other end of the Island and i was on time ,This after waiting to pick us up from the Airport and returning us there!!
It was certainly kindness i had not encountered on any holiday before

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: Sharp bend in the road near property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. Regards Leo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 22, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing view from the roof terrace
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing