We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Gente di Mare - CLOSED

Gente di Mare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in front of the magnificent port of Marsaxlokk, the most prominent old village in Malta, Gente di Mare Restaurant will welcome you and your loved ones in a quite relaxed environment. You may also choose to dine in our seafront open air area and enjoy the beautiful view of Marsaxlokk port.Gente di Mare Restaurant specializes in local fresh fish, caught from local fisherman. We select the fish and its source carefully to provide genuine local produce for exquisite fish dining experience. For those who prefer something different, here, you will also find a selection of meat, game and poultry dishes, like hand cut beef fillets and Argentian Black Angus, just to mention a few. You will also find a wide assortment of dishes our chefs are renowned for, like our home-made 'aljotta', vegetable soup of the day and our scrumptious pasta dishes. Our chefs prepare all our delicacies with love and passion, always creating innovative dishes and specialties' to please our loyal clientele. The menu is seasonal; therefore you will always find new dishes when you return.
Zejtun, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great Food and service I would definitely recommend this restaurant for it's service , cleanliness and Food

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    47
    35
    33
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Attard, Malta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as great as they say!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went there for Sunday lunch, at 1.00pm only one type of fresh fish was available! When the waiter came to take the drinks order he was talking to me & left to deal with another table & my order was not even taken yet. As we waited for more than an hour for our food, it was not full filing!! And you do not include Calamari RIngs as a main course~for adults!!! Service is a disaster, no variety of fish as suppose it specialize in fish & expensive for nothing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahFormosa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Lovely food, drink, desserts! Very reasonably priced! 3 adults 2 kids! €61 all in two courses! Very accommodating for the kids as no kids menu as such but cooked gorgeous burgers and nuggets of them! Staff couldn't be more helpful!! Would definitely return!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cwardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mould on dessert”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This restaurant served us bad food with green mould on it. We ordered coffee and desserts and the cassatella siciliana had mould on it. The waiter said that by mistake they served the dessert which was meant to be thrown away. I'm pretty sure they knew that it had gone bad and tried to sell it anyway. The restaurant did not offer any type of compensation, they simply removed the bad cassatella from the bill. Our bill totalled to 12 Euro, they could have simply offered the rest on the house. Pity! Never again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, null, Malta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expensive lunch for two!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My first visit to this establishment. I was looking for a nice fresh fish restaurant toenjoy a Sunday lunch. The decor is acceptable. In my opinion the backgroung music is tediuos and for an outlet with 'Italian' connotations I expected the music to be in line with this. The fresh fish selection was, even if a little restricted. Prices are on the expensive side for these. The normal menu, presentd in a plain folder needs more choices for those who prefer dishes without fish or shellfish. Staff is helpful but on the whole need better service skills. I dined inside which was rather dark as the ceiling lights were not lit. Wine service was adequate. Toilet facilities are acceptable but need periodic cleaning and attention.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie T, Manager at Gente di Mare, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for your review regarding our restaurant, it was our pleasure to serve you and would be our pleasure to serve you again. It was an expensive lunch for you, because you chose a Pesce San Pietro nearly weighing 2kgs for two persons. A fish that size usually it is shared between 3 or 4 people. The price and weight of the fish were told to you by our headwaiter and you still chose that fish. The total bill ended up to 128Euros, for 2 starters, the fish together with potatoes and vegetables, 2 desserts, a bottle of wine and two coffees, which I think it was an acceptable price for a lunch like that. You were also offered two drinks on the house, which you forgot to mention in your review.

Thank you for your opinion regarding the decor and the music, we appreciate that you noticed and said it in your review, as in that way we are more likely to improve.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gente di Mare also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing