We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant seafood”

Tartarun Fish Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant seafood”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Tartarun is one of the best seafood places I have ever visited. They only use the freshest of ingredients which are at their doorstep. Their pasta dishes are innovative without destroying the natural flavour of seafood. And, surprisingly, even their desserts are superb. Wine is of a good value. Service is relaxed and charming, not overly quick, but they seem to be very busy in the evenings. If I could, I would eat there every week.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allinthemind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    186
    45
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pretty good seafood restaurant on tourist strip”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Of the array of restaurants lined along the seafront in the picturesque fishing village of Marsaxlokk Tartarun looks one of the more refined and appealing. They were very busy when I arrived on a sunny sunday afternoon and I got a seat outside in the shade. Service was good, everybody that came to the table was professional. I had the Spagetti with fresh local seafood. It was generous and good with clams, mussels, prawns and octopus but a little over seasoned and lacking that delicate touch that should have made the fresh seafood sing. To me the seafood was over cooked and the spagetti a bit bland. In fairness to them, they were efficient (on an obviously busy afternoon), the coffee was pretty good, they've an interesting wine list and it was good value for money. Bathroom was a bit of a mess though. If TripAdvisor let me add 3.5 stars I would, food was not quiet what it should have been for a quality seafood restaurant. I'd go again and try one of their catch of the day specials.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymondo_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Personally the no 1 fish restaurant of the moment”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is what I call a restaurant always on demand start from quality to service keep it up I really admire a family run restaurant like this whit the same standard ! When I think of fish my mind always go for this place I really recommend this place as a restauranteur my self .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Splendour of seafood!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Exquiste fish displays, with innovative displays of calimari and shrimp carpaccio. All this complemented with a superb wine list. In attendance, attentive staff and hospitable environment. Well done goes to Steve as the Master of the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Fish restuarant in the South of Malta”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A superb wine list and great food complement to a perfect dining experience, the food is excellent and you cant wrong my best choice is the Papardalle with Scallops and Asparagus if not Linguine Astiche for starters or the Black SquId Ink Tortelloni with Prawns and Scallops as main any type of fish cooked to your preference is a sure bet

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartarun Fish Restaurant also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Tartarun Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing