We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place for fresh fish” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ir-Rizzu Restaurant

Ir-Rizzu Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 51 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sta Venera Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good place for fresh fish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

At any time of the year, Ir-Rizzu is one of the best places for fresh fish at the south of Malta. The place is air conditioned during the very hot months.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kingmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    128
    87
    54
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where fresh local fish is guaranteed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Great place for fresh fish. Always guaranteed the best fresh fish cooked to your liking. Let them guide you on their special starter and you wont regret it. Louise is the perfect hostess. Want to host friend who like fish in a fishing village - look no further.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4dgatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disorganisation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Went with my family and a visitor for an evening meal at Ir-rizzu, thinking that it was supposed to be one of the top notch places to eat at Marsaxlokk. Oh dear, what a mistake!
We ordered the starters which came in good timing but the main course seemed to take forever. When it did eventually arrive, my husband was lacking his fork so he asked for one. 3 minutes later he was still without a fork, so asked again. Eventually, a very stressed and had enough looking man got one from the next table and put it in front of my husband. We ordered veg with the main, but we had salad instead, so we complained to the waitress ( yes a different person every time). She took the salad and waited for the veg. (food getting cold). When it did eventually arrive, the potatoes were missing!! By this time we had enough, so we started to eat.

My daughter ordered the trio of fish and after 5 minutes she said "mum I cannot eat the fish with teeth". Yes one of the trio was half a head of a fish. Please tell me where is the meat in a fish's head? The head is used to make soup out of and not presented on its own on a plate!!! The fish I had was like rubber and tasteless. Such a rip off! We couldn't wait to leave. We felt so ashamed that we built a high expectation with our visitor but sadly failed.
After paying the bill, we didn'even get a thank you or a good night from staff. Soooo ignorant and rude.
NEVER, NEVER again in this so called restaurant in Marsaxlokk.

Helpful?
4 Thank selmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice location - average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Location is very nice if you get a table on the promenade. Service good. Food average. Starters good. Grilled fish good. Spaghetti below the average. Price average. Generally the impression was positive but nothing special.

Helpful?
1 Thank CrieMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This isn't the first time I have visited but the first time I have reviewed this restaurant. Ir-rizzu has been consistently great not only in food but in service, atmosphere, and hygiene. Located on the marsaxlokk waterfront, rizzu offers a wide range of home grown products including meat fish and pasta amongst many. Service was friendly and prompt although it is recommended that one makes a reservation as the place gets pretty full pretty quickly.

Now, the food. Me and another member had pork medallions which were cooked to perfection and covered in a sauce at extra cost. Another member had the octopus and complimented it greatly. As well as this you are welcomed with a basket of Maltese bread and a plate full of appetisers. This is all cooked in front of a live kitchen which although a minor detail, makes all the difference in serving up a pleasant atmosphere. Its costly but worth every last cent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ir-Rizzu Restaurant also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ir-Rizzu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing