We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not to be missed !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Clos du Quesnay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos du Quesnay
Ranked #1 of 1 Mauquenchy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Trunch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not to be missed !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked this chambre d'hote based on the comments from previous guests and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home by Sabine and Jean-Francois. We were two couples and both rooms offered were extremely comfortable and large and a nice touch not often found in France were the kettles and coffee and tea in the rooms. The evening meal was a resounding success with everything home made including some of the drinks served with courses such as pommeau and calvados. Attention is paid to guests in seating arrangements around the large table and if you can't speak French Sabine and Jean-Francois are extremely good at explaining things in English. We had a particularly enjoyable evening with the other guests who came from Denmark, Belgium and France. The breakfast is indeed not to be missed and when you enter the room the table is laden with all manner of breads, croissants, jams yoghurt etc. If we return we would definitely try the gypsy caravans - something we think Eric would enjoy !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldcodgers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
156
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Fyn, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed one night at this B & B, and was extremely satisfied. We booked one of the very well decorated Gypsy wagons (contains both a shower, toilet, bedroom and kitchen) - it was comfortable, clean and well maintained. We had ordered both dinner and breakfast the morning after. Dinner was a delight, 5 dishes, wine, homemade pommeau and calvados and pleasant company in the form of 4 other couples seated at the same large table. All dishes were prepared by Sabine and was presented by either Sabine or Jean-François. It turned out to be a great and fun evening! Do not miss the sumptuous breakfast, which again is homemade, from the bread to the delicious jams.

We will definitely visit this place if we come to France again.

Maria and Sofus from Denmark.

Greetings to Eric.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofus_Ryge_Petersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coutances, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Like many others, we booked a room here purely as a one night stop over on our travels from the UK to further South in France - purely as a rest place, something we thought a bit above the usual nasty ring road hotels. WOW...what a find! From the moment we arrived & met Jean-Francois & Sabine we knew we were in for a treat. They are both really warm & inviting people & you can tell that they love their home & take pride & work very hard at what they offer there.

Our room was lovely, quiet & airy with a very nice bathroom, modern shower & very comfy bed. We had pre-booked dinner & were so glad we did. Jean-Francois in particular was outstanding as the perfect host for the evening. All the other diners were introduced to each other in the garden & we all sat together around one table to eat. The other guests were from Paris & Belgium & were great company too. Our french is very basic to say the least yet not once did we find ourselves left out of the conversation...Jean-Francois stayed at the table acting as a wonderful go between on parts of the translation when required & we absolutely loved it. Sabine's cooking was delicious & we had the most enjoyable dinner with wine which lasted for over 3 hours. Plus....Jean-Francois treated us to his home made Calvados which was excellent!

Breakfast next morning was served on the longest table I've ever seen, again shared with the other guests that we'd met the previous night. A wonderful spread of homemade goodies which were freshly baked the evening before.

Overall, Le Clos is probably the nicest B&B we've ever stayed in anywhere! It's not always that a place matches expectations from either the online feedback or the website photos but in this case I can say without hesitation that our expectations were exceeded. Fantastic value for money, ideal location from the ports, very pretty setting but mainly because of Jean-Francois & Sabine themselves. We could of happily stayed there the whole 2 weeks & we'd like to say a big thank you to them & wish them continued success.

Stephanie & David from Leeds, UK . Aug 17th

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steffy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We're a family of 5 - 3 kids aged 4-10 and we loved this place. We hope we can come back!

We stayed in the Jonagold family room - actually 2 rooms with a bathroom and loo - in the immaculate, beautifully refurbished building

The whole place is very comfortable and Jean-François & Sabine were very welcoming and attentive. It's clear they have a passion for the place and what they do.

We didn't manage the dinner but heard great things. Breakfast was wonderful

The gardens are huge and great for running around - there are swings, playhouses, big lawns and table tennis

We were stopping off en route back to the tunnel (2 hours away) from the South. It's very convenient for the A28, and given that all 5 of us could sleep in one place, far better value than 2 Ibis rooms. But the area also looks great so expect to be back to see it properly

Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a surprise find this was! We were looking for somewhere to break our journey from the Charente and this was just perfect, only 2 hours from the tunnel. The location was superb and the hospitality was excellent. Our hosts entertained and fed us through two huge meals (dinner and breakfast). Everything was home-cooked and beautifully presented, Jean-Francois giving a history of the house and the food and drink preparation as part of the meal.

The room was fantastic - a very large king-sized bed, with all the extras including a chest of assorted teas.

At 120 euros for D, B&B a real bargain and not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F10na5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

some two years ago we were fortunate to come upon this beautifully renovated buildings and cultivated plantation. a short ride from dieppe,we came again in august 2012.
sabine and jean francoise are welcoming and offer beautifull rooms, great evening meals and an experience which includes sitting with other guests and sharing a lovely time around the din ner table. sabine and jean francous spare no effort to make their guests as comfortable and
satisfied

as the place is in the middle of the countryside (though minutes away from the nearby Forge les Eaux), it is wonderfull to wake up to very beautifull and wide grounds, feel peacefull and spaciouse. wonderfull if you have children who would enjoy running around securely and freely

as they are very much booked in advance, you are well advised to book as early as you can.

the accomodation and the evening meal are excellent value and a memorable experience. the best we had for a long time! warmly recomended.

Room Tip: we stayed in a room on the first floor of one of the out houses - beautifully done and very airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very warm welcome from Jean-Francois, the owner. Dinner looked quite an experience (French & English mixing well over great food) but we missed it due to our young children. Breakfast very impressive though - homemade cake, fresh fruit, lots of conversation.
Family room extremely comfortable. Actually 2 rooms with big bathroom (bath & shower). Comfy beds & cotton bedding. We had kingsize bed & 2 children had single beds. Tea making facilities. TV. Could open windows so not too hot.
Large gardens and excellent children's play area. Tables to have picnic on (we bought food from nearby supermarket).
Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mauquenchy
2.3 mi away
Forges Hotel
Forges Hotel
#1 of 5 in Forges-les-Eaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
La Paix
La Paix
#2 of 5 in Forges-les-Eaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Du Grand Cerf
Hotel Du Grand Cerf
#1 of 2 in Neufchatel en Bray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.3 mi away
Les Chambres du Lac
Les Chambres du Lac
#1 of 2 in Forges-les-Eaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
5.1 mi away
Le Chat Chocolat
Le Chat Chocolat
#1 of 1 in Saumont-La-Poterie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos du Quesnay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos du Quesnay

Property: Le Clos du Quesnay
Address: 651 route de Rouen, 76440 Mauquenchy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Mauquenchy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mauquenchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an old farmhouse dating from the nineteenth century, on four hectares of gardens, at three kilometres from the historical and tourist town called « Forges les Eaux », « le clos du Quesnay », meticulously restored suggests you five rooms : one is for people whose mobility is reduced. They are luxuriously furnished and decorated. A private room and living room are at the guests’ disposal. You can book for buffets or greedy dishes composed of Norman food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos du Quesnay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing