We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative Guide”

Malta Tour Guide - Private Tours by Joan
Ranked #10 of 175 Tours in Island of Malta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private customised tours with a very experienced and friendly local guide. If you want to experience the real Malta, discover our wonderful island..the history, culture and people I can handle any type of itinerary. I can provide tours for any duration and my suggested itineraries are ideal for one day cruise ship visitors or multi day tours if you are visiting for a longer vacation. Visit my website for great touring ideas or just get in touch and I will be more than happy to suggest touring ideas. I look forward to hearing from you. Joan.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superlative Guide”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had only one day to visit Malta. Joan crafted a tour to show us several highlights that could be covered in that short time....Valletta, Hagar Qim, a quaint fishing village, Mdina, and the Blue Grotto. Joan is probably the best guide we have ever had...combine deep knowledge of her country's history with her enthusiasm and national pride and the result is an outstanding experience. As a result of our day with her, we are looking forward to returning to Malta to tour additional sites with her.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Malta Tour Guide - Private Tours by Joan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks a lot Jerry for your praise and comments. I can't wait to welcome you back here in Malta for a few more days to continue where we left off. I am sure you will be amazed at how much more there is to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour...”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Joan was a tour guide for my small tour group. I really appreciated her kindness, enthusiasm and in-depth knowledge of Malta. She also has a wonderful pride of her country, and it really showed throughout the tour. We happened to go on a countryside tour of Malta which included the Church of St Lawrence, the fishing village of Marsaxlokk, the Blue Grotto and a drive through Rabat, around the old capital of Mdina and on through Mosta.

She was a joy, and I highly recommend her to anyone who travels to Malta.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank imzadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Malta Tour Guide - Private Tours by Joan, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comments. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Knowledge of Malta”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Joan was full of knowledge We went to Medina where we had wonderful cake! Knights of St Johns cathedral also magnificent as was the Blue Grotto. Joan was able to design the tour to meet our requests. Her English is impeccable and she is highly organised. Good value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Griffwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Malta Tour Guide - Private Tours by Joan, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
The tour was designed to your requirements but some things are spontaneous! The cake stop was not planned but we couldn't resist it. I appreciate your lovely comments and thank you for being such good company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a lovely tour of the North of the Island and it was very imformative
very good value
We visited some lovely places Mosta Rabat were amazing and worth a trip to see them.
Valleta has so much to see and do the harbour tour is recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mwooll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Malta Tour Guide - Private Tours by Joan, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for your comments. There is so much to see here making it very difficult to include a bit of everything in one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Valletta Tour”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

As part of a cruise visit we had a half day tour of Valletta with Joan in July 2013. All arrangements were superb, including organising the tour according to our preferred venues and accommodating our request for a WW2 perspective. Having a local guide with such knowledge significantly improved our experience. Would definitely book again on any future visit.
Williams Family

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Malta Tour Guide - Private Tours by Joan, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Although we only had a few hours together we did manage to cover quite a bit of ground as regards to WWII when Malta was under constant attack. I thank you and your family for the enthusiasm shown throughout the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malta Tour Guide - Private Tours by Joan also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Malta Tour Guide - Private Tours by Joan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing