We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating”

Golden Bay Horse Riding
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to one of the Longest standing Riding Schools in Malta, established in 1981 that has been run by the same Family since then! With this experience behind us, you can feel confident that we will look after you whilst you enjoy some of the most scenic views our tiny Island has to offer in one of the most natural and tranquil ways possible, on horseback!
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Accommodating”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I missed the bus for our scheduled 1:30 horse ride and instead arrived an hour late. Mario still obliged our booking and took us for an hour ride despite the wind. Very wonderful, friendly and entertaining experience. Well trained horses, clean conditions, great conversation and beautiful views. Thanks again for the trip and sorry for our tardiness!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darrell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    44
    7
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relaxing ride stunning views”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

A very well run establishment suitable for complete beginners or more experienced riders. The owner Mario is very good at matching up your ability with the right horse. My Girlfriend and I have ridden before and so got to lead on our own whilst less experienced riders were led. As mentioned in other posts the terrain is very rocky so don't expect an adrenalin fuelled ride just a sedate amble with stunning views. We went on the sunset ride and can highly recommend this 90 min experience. If you want to see the island from a different perspective this 30 euro trip is worth every cent.

Helpful?
Thank Mozzyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great value for money & beautiful horses”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

i recently went horse riding here. (23rd oct) we were staying in Bugibba and got the 223 bus to golden bay, it was a short 5 minute walk from the beach and the staff were very friendly.
i'm an experienced rider and used to work at a stables in the algarve, portugal (taking tourist out for rides around the area of silves)
I rode a large brown horse and he was as good as gold. i would have loved to have a little canter but because of the ground (stoney and uneven) it was imposable, i had a little trot.
i went on the 1hour ride for 20e and it was money well spent. i'll defiantly be returning. i worn short but id recommend long trousers. fantastic views of the coast and golden bay...absolutly loved it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank coddle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely sunset ride”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely sunset ride with Mario and his amusing chat! Rough terrain and Pepsi did well to keep up with the larger horses although that did mean I was doing a lot of trotting whilst the others were walking! Definitely inspired me to book some lessons now we are home. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Marmitemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice people and horses.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I went and arrived late due to weather/bus schedules. I learned in Malta that if it rains, traffic is substantially delayed.

Golden Bay Horse Riding (GBHR) is easy to find and get to by bus.

landscape was interesting and fun. nice to see the countryside and old village.

the sunset ride is so worth it. riding into the sunset is awesome.

would have loved to walk the horses through the sea.

overall, great experience and I will definitely go back.

very nice owner and trail rider.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jenwin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Bay Horse Riding also viewed

 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Golden Bay Horse Riding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing