We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic apartment and location”
other travelers have booked this property
Water taxi ride
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Water taxi ride
Living Area Apartment Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Water taxi ride
Living Area
Apartment Entrance
Sitting Area
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Ensuit Showeroom
2nd Bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen/Dinning
Kitchen/ Dinning Area
Kitchen
Balcony view to right - Kalkara Creek
balcony view to left - Valetta and mediterranean
Fort St Angelo  and Valetta from Marina-side
Space between fort and apartments
'Small' Marina boats
Casino and cafe
balcony view - straight ahead
View onto apartments and Kalkara creek from Kalkara
Fort St Angelo  and valetta from outside the apartment
St Lawrenec Church in Vittoriosa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Stephen E
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment and location”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

George met us near the airport so that we could follow him to the apartment's underground car park which may have been tricky otherwise as Maltese road signs are not the best! Having a dedicated, secure parking space is a real bonus in this part of town although you really do not need a car at all to explore the immediate vicinity (we only used it for the second part of our holiday on Gozo) as the frequent buses and ferry to Valletta are so close by as is the stop for "hop on, hop off" tour buses for the whole island.
The apartment itself is massive, extremely well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The view of the Grand Harbour is breathtaking and the balcony a great place to sit and watch the boats go by. Although this only gets the sun in the morning we found the rocks at the end of Fort St Angelo (go up the steps at the side of the wall and through an archway) provided a great all day sunbathing spot if required.
We loved the area which provided a real authentic experience of Maltese life which would be completely missed if you stayed across the water. Make sure to have a drink in the rear courtyard of the Band Club on practice nights and/or sit in the square and watch the world go by.
If you are only going to stay once place in Malta make it here in George's fabulous apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Smallish balcony but really not an issue.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamaann
Herndon, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I love Malta! Viva St. Lawrence!”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent an incredible 10 days here in Birgu! George has been so hospitable to us from when we first booked the rental, answering questions along the way, renting a taxi to pick us up at the airport, checking in on us while we were here, stocking the frig for when we got here, ... The apartment is spacious and lovely and very clean! The views from the balcony are wonderful! We took water taxis to and from Valetta that were close by. I cannot thank George enough for renting to us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Air conditioning was a welcomed treat after being out in the intense sun all day!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapper38
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb modern apartment that fully met our expectations”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I were accompanying our adult son who has long had an interest in the Knights of Malta, so we wanted somewhere close to the historic sights. We did not know it before we arrived, but Vittoriosa (or Il Birgu) was the original settlement of the Knights when they arrived in the 16th century and was the main centre or focus of the Great Seige before Valletta was built, so we could not have been closer!. George Gatt arranged a taxi to collect us from the Airport and the driver had the keys to the apartment and dropped us off at the Security desk of St Angelo Mansions where we were told how to access our block of 10 apartments that was served by a separate secure front door and secure lift. George had left provisions in the fridge which was a great help on our first day (especially being a Sunday). The apartment is on the 3rd floor and has tremendous views of the Grand Harbour entrance in one direction as well as Kalkara in the other. Although the apartment has its own parking space in the basement, next to the lift, we decided in the end to use public transport, which worked perfectly well. There is a harbour ferry that runs across to Valletta every half hour (from 7am to 6pm), and the ferry ticket also allows for use of the Barrakka Lift in Valletta. Open top, hop-on/hop-off tour buses operate from close to the harbour ferry terminals on each side. The main Velletta bus terminal is close to the Upper Barrakka Gardens. Vittoriosa is fairly quiet at night, though there are some excellent restaurants. This suited us, though I suspect the location would not be ideal for teenagers or those seeking the beach. We thoroughy enjoyed our week in Malta, which was made memorable by this comfortable and well-appointed apartment in Vittoriosa. While we never physically met George, I had no problem communicating with him by email or text messaging and he certainly made our stay easy. We would happily go back, and stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment Location and Facilities
Liked least: As I had a little difficulty walking, the 500m trip to and from the main square and restaurants and the harbour ferry was a little wearing, especially as nothing is that flat!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very comfortable apartment in a great position and with wonderful views.”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The apartment is spacious, well equipped and in a quiet area. George the manager had been very helpful organising taxis and supplying us with essential things eg milk.
The balcony is not spacious but fits in a table and a couple of chairs but the view is terrific. Most mornings I watched the cruises going into Valletta, while the rest of the time loved watching all the other water activities.
You can get a ferry to Valletta for 2.60E return if you walk down the harbour path which included the lift to take you into the centre

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Recommended apartment, Fantastic location, comfortable and well equipped. Great to have a welcome pack of bread, milk etc. Really helps when you arrive and need basics for a first cup of tea.

I would recommend that a second set of bedding (which fitted the bed) be provided other than that pretty much all that we needed was there.

Would definitely book again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Could not get the coffee machine to work
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janey49
Wangaratta Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“it was sensational”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed there with my elderly mother and my sister ( who actually signed in )
The apartment was beautifully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean !
The view of the Maltese harbour was just magic to wake up to each morning.
The 24 hour security was a bonus
We were totally surprised to find supplys for a day or two in the frirdge ,milk ,butter bread eggs juice tea and coffey etc.
Absolutely every need was catered for.
We would strongly recommend this apartment .
Thank you Mr George Gatt for the way you maintain your apartment,
Janey Messina

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience
Liked least: The bedding
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samsue201...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“exceptional in every way!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We are experienced travellers....this apartment in Birgu offers everything one could want...location, views, 24 hr security, allotted car space, air conditioning, lift and then the spacious apartment with everything you could want!
The only down side...could do with new pillows on all beds.
A fabulous holiday, enjoyed by all!.....thankyou George

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: the pillows
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing