We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for”
Review of Mariblu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariblu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Xewkija B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just got back from 10 days at The Mariblu. We wanted a quiet break after the big family holiday rush and somewhere warm (essential). We chose the mid two weeks of September, probably the ideal time.

If you are looking for Holiday Inn type accomodation which is faceless but functional, then you will have come to the wrong place. Instead, what you get is a family-run B&B with loads of character and friendly hosts in the form of Maria and Frankie.

It is also a restaurant, so as well as Bed and Breakfast, you have the option to eat in and a very pleasant experience it is too, and reasonably priced. The food is excellent and prepared from fresh ingredients by Maria and her staff. They have a proper Pizza oven and they make really good ones, none of your doughy examples you get in most chains. You can tailor your own or go for one on the menu. (Hot Tip: ask for their home-made Chile Oil - lovely stoff if you like it hot). The Seafood Salad was really good and served as a good starter, shared by myself and my wife. Breakfast really sets you up for the day with a selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, toast and a choce of eggs, including fried, boiled or the Omelettes, for which they are renowned. You can have cheese, ham, cheese and ham or cheese and ham without the cheese and ham (plain)! The restaurant itself has loads of character, being decorated with lots of Maritime and Diving memorabilia. Frankie used to run a Diving School and it is still there, behind the hotel.


We had a large room at the back of the Annexe to the main building (3 doors down the Road). This building is also full of character, having a lovely marble staircase leading to the first floor. There is a good-sized balcony with a view of the famous Rotunda Church and en-suite facilities. I have read some reviews that say that the rooms at the front can be a bit noisy because of the busy road and that the church bells can be a bit obtrusive at the rear. We certainly didn't find them obtrusive - it is quite a pleasant sound and not too close. Mind you, perhaps they could turn down the volume on the 5am call to prayer! Air conditioning is provided at extra charge (8 euros per night) but we didn't need it as a large fan was in the room which was perfectly adequate. There is free wi-fi (essential for me as I am a Freelance) and it never let me down, even 3 doors down. Hence, we were able to listen to Radio 4 on my Netbook, which was nice.

The Arriva bus service on the island is very good, if very crowded at times! There is a bus-stop by the hotel and it only takes about 10 minutes to get into the main town, Victoria. You can buy an 'all-day' ticket for 2.6 Euros which will take you anywhere on the Island or about 6 Euros for a week. Very good value. There is a small supermaket in the village square, along with a couple of bars, where you can also eat and drink coffee.

The island doesn't appear to have many sandy beaches in the tradional style, but we enjoyed going to Marsalforn on the bus a few times, where the swimming is good, you can rent a sunbed with mattress (4 Euros) and there are plenty of places to eat. Go to Mellos Bar & Grill for a decent cup of coffee (too many places serve week Nescafe) and good Tapas.

Gozo is not the pace for you if you like a lot of lively night-life. I didn't see any clubs. I imagine the mainland (Malta) would be the place for this. But if you want to eat out in the evening elsewhere, the buses run quite late and the cabs are not prohibitive.

We weren't there at the hottest time of year, but an average 25-30 degrees was just right for us. We would definitely go back to the Mariblu. Perhaps next time, we could save some money by booking our own flights and dealing direct with them. It's about a 30 minute taxi ride from Malta Airport to the Ferry and about another 10 minute ride from the Ferry to the Mariblu. Frankie can arrange all this for you, if you wish.

All in all, satisfied customers. Thankyou Maria and Frankie.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiley-Gozo, Owner at Mariblu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We enjoyed the stay of Dave and his wife as since they stayed for over one week, we had time to talk especially at dinner.

For us it is nice to have such people as one has time to share views, experiences and have time to talk about our island and its wonderful history.

On the other hand, it is like seeing friends leaving and it makes us feel sorry to see them go, but such reviews from them brings back the good time we spent together talking about many different subjects.

Knowing that they enjoyed themselves so much, makes us a happy as themselves, as for us meeting such nice people makes us feel like we were their guests and not their hosts as we enjoyed their company as much as they did.

This is what makes me say that "You arrive as a customer and leave as a friend".

Wish them all the best in the world and hope to see them again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 77 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Mariblu B&B is a family run guest house and it is in a pretty city, Xewkija. Corrispondence and arrangements were very efficient.
We stayed only 3 days in Gozo and in this lovely B&B.
The owners are welcoming people. Frankie is a helpful nice guy, also he organizes boat/jeep tour and has a diving centre as well. Maria is a lovely owner as well as a brilliant cook, I'll never forget the amazing ham and cheese omelette for breakfast, and the simply but tasty courses who she is used to cook in their restaurant.
Our room was 2 doors next to the main pink building. 3 bedrooms (we were only 2), en-suite bathroom and a kitchenette, huge and comfortable. The room was on the roadside and a bit noisy in the night, wi fi connection slow in the room but good in the rest of the B&B.
Design and furniture "vintage" but really convenient and really clean. Downstairs there was the common space, a big clean kitchen and a swimming pool.
Superb buffet breakfast and cooked food served in the restaurant with the view on the internal garden and another swimming pool.
Great service and value for money.
Lovely and helpful owners.
We would definitely consider it again and recommend it when visiting the beautiful Gozo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, around the swimming pool. Nice view, closer to the swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stay 1 week in The Mariblu hotel. A very pleasant place with people really friendly. Nothing is far with the bus lines really near the hôtel. If we come back 1 day, we'll ask for a pool view room because we were near the street and it was a little noisy. It's hard to find a place with 2 pools at that price in Malta. And all staff was avaible and helpful with us. So we recommand to come in Xewqija to vist them.

Room Tip: Rooms near the road are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lapoiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Mariblu is a family run guest house. Clean and comfortable

Price is value for money

Correspondence and arrangements were very efficient

As regards food - We only had breakfast and afternoon tea but all was up to our expectations.

WIFI was a bit slow in the evening on the upper floors but was not of much concern

Room Tip: if you are a family or travelling with friends , ask for the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmy1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great welcoming despite the fact that we booked at the last minute. Frankie and Mary were very helpful and this made us feel more comfortable during our stay! Great service and value for money! We would definitely consider it again when visiting the beautiful island of Gozo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A great place in a great island. Our thanks to Frankie and Maria, we could not have had better hosts - and very friendly and efficient staff. Wonderful food (the best steaks for a very long time, and the excellent traditional stewed rabbit) cooked to perfection by Maria. Breakfasts are a great start to the day, the best omelettes ever! The room was basic but efficient and spacious, evrything was clean and well serviced. The only downside perhaps was that the room was facing the front, overlooking the road, with busy early morning traffic - but even then it was nothing like a busy UK road! Next time (and there definitely will be a next) we will ask for a rear facing room. There is a very nice pool with seats and tables and a sun deck to enjoy the warm October sun, and at night sitting outside with a bottle of wine, looking over to the Xewkiwa church with its famous dome, called the rotunda, all beautifully lit up, was a memorable experience. There is also a scuba diving centre/school attached to the Mariblu and the waters around Gozo are great for diving. We can heartily recommend the Mariblu and look forward to our next visit..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It has been very difficult to give this a rating. It is a traditional guest house and therefore has a more cottage style in furniture than modern chain hotels. Some people will be bothered by this and therefore rate 3*. For us , two adults and a teen, the two bedrooms and a big table in the kitchenette to play cards on was brilliant so we gave 4*. The room we had was HUGE. It consisted of two bedrooms , a nice recently refurbished bathroom and a kitchenette room with fridge and cooker ( although if on a bed and breakfast basis not all the self catering equipment is in the room)
The rotunda church at the back is impressive. the bells ring on and off quite frequently. ( including 5 am some days!) but this does happen all over Gozo.

Breakfast is basic. Toast, croissants in packets, yoghurts, 3 types of cereals, some ham and salami and your choice of eggs, fried, scrambled or omelettes. ( can recommend the ham and cheese)

Staff are all lovely. Frankie and his wife are very friendly. They used to run the dive centre too but seem to be scaling back their work in general now. The dive centre is excellent , having recently been taken over by two extremely experienced diving instructors who used to work in Dahab , Egypt.

There is a bus stop just outside the Guest House. You can get a bus ticket for the day for about 3 euro's. It will take you all over the island. Victoria is also 10 minutes walk away and there are restaurants here.

We stayed in October , out of season, it was very quiet in Victoria and some of the restaurants did not open. We found somewhere different each night however.

We were diving with the GozoDiving Centre incorporated with the hotel. It was very convenient to roll out of bed and down to the dive centre.

Price wise, 30 euros per person is very standard for Gozo. Often 35-40. Service from staff lovely. If you want modern funky furniture it aint for you. If you are diving , this is the place to stay. Romantic breaks maybe not.

We will go back for the diving and stay here. Would be great with families.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less road noise but more church bell noise! Take your pick. The dive centre i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchersly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xewkija
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
758 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.0 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariblu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariblu Hotel

Address: Mariblu | Mgarr Road, Xewkija, Island of Gozo XWK 9015, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xewkija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Xewkija
Price Range: $54 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariblu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariblu is family run and provides accommodation in superior double rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms,studios and family suites. All rooms have ensuite shower, TV, A/C, Wifi, Fridge, hair dryers etc. At the Mariblu you will feel at home and will be considered as a new member of the ever growing family where you arrive as a customer and leave as a friend. The Mariblu is your home away from home. You will surely love Maria's local traditional cooking as well as our hospitality for which many keep coming back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariblu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariblu Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xewkija, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing