We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mgarr ix-Xini

Mgarr ix-Xini
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.98*
and up
Gozo Ta' Cenc Cliffs Segway Tour
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Xewkija
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Little Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This great place is a little difficult ot find but well worth it. The sea here is very clear and is quite deep in places. There are lots of interesting areas to explore if your a keen snorkel buff. It can sometimes be quite busy and room is a little at a premium. The eating places here are fairly good if a little pricey. In the later months, the sea can be quite rough here as it tends to get 'funelled' up the inlet and hence, the waters clarity suffers for a day or so. Worth spending a day here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    39
    13
    9
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qrendi, Malta
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh fish in an unexpected place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had heard about this place and as a seafood fan wanted to try it. It is a tricky drive, with a pretty little bay at the end. The 'restaurant' is under some trees. The seafood we had was excellent, so fresh and tasty. It's not a cheap spot, despite it's location. But my plate of fresh prawns was overflowing & the clams were lovely, so I was happy. Would definitely go again next time in Gozo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenniMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hidden delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had intended to go to this restaurant by boat, but because of rough seas, went by car instead. This is the first time I have used my Sat Nav in Malta and was thankful for it. The location of the restaurant is very special in a small Bay with great swimming. We were also lucky to find a parking space, thought parking later on in the day proved to be a challenge for some.

We had fresh clams, mussels, oysters, shrimps, sea bass and rock fish and all agreed this was some of the freshest and best seafood we had eaten in Malta. Service was good, though a table next door to us were experiencing problems and left without ordering.

The bill for eight adults and five children came to Euro 600, which did include 10 bottles of wine, ice creams and coffees over a six hour period.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rjbrownmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madliena, Malta
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I won't be returning !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked a table at Mgarr Ix Xini for a group of 9 friends. We chose our order and the wife who owns the place with her husband came to take our order. After we finished saying what we wanted she very rudely said: "don't do this to us.. We get big families who order starters as well.. There is a kiosk up there if u want .. we have a lot of other reservations.." She was basically telling us that our main courses weren't enough and showed me how obsessed with money these people are.. the prices are very over priced... i replied that we spent a lot over the weekend and it was our last lunch here and that we wont be returning.. at the end i was in a rush to leave with a couple of friends before the rest of the table and she accused me and a couple of friends saying that we didnt oay the bill.. And I reassured her that the money was on the table.... To top it all off the food wasn't that great at all...... We were looking forward to eating there but after the way the owners treated us I will definitely not return. These people need to respect their customers.. If they did, I wouldn't have written this review for many to see. No receipt was given either.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank UrbanWays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice fish, shame about the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a tricky place to find but we were recommended to go to the restaurant on the beach that is open until 5pm. Yes it's lovely to eat fish and sip wine on a beach but felt afterwards that it was the only time in a week on Gozo that the price and the portions didn't match. Expensive for what it is.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Proddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mgarr ix-Xini also viewed

 
Sannat, Island of Gozo
Island of Gozo, Malta
 

Been to Mgarr ix-Xini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing