We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous property and excellent service from...”
other travelers have booked this property
alley leading to farmhouse entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
alley leading to farmhouse entrance
Internal courtyard entrance to farmhouse from internal courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
alley leading to farmhouse entrance
Internal courtyard
entrance to farmhouse from internal courtyard
spacious sitting room
pool and deck area with ample space for sunbeds and BBQ area
main bedroom
extra bedroom at ground floor
extra bedroom at first floor
external staircase to first floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Xaghra, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Chloe C
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property and excellent service from Victor”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at the Ta Cikku Farmhouse, which is exactly as it appears in the photos, if not better. The large bedroom makes you feel as though you're sleeping in a castle! The pool is beautiful and immaculately clean, the outside space is great and the property is very generously proportioned. We were just three people but the accommodation is large enough for lots more.

Victor was incredibly helpful, leaving us supplies and even giving us a lift from the airport (not sure if this is a standard service!). He also gave us a mini tour of the area when we first arrived to help us get our bearings.

Three tips: 1. We arrived on a Sunday and things were a little quiet in town - bear this in mind if you're expecting to eat out while everyone's at church. 2. You will need a car if you're travelling with kids or anyone who doesn't enjoy the half mile wander into the local town.3. The local pasties are delicious - banish all thoughts of Gregg's - they're the nicest pastry-based snacks you'll ever eat.

Gozo itself is also tremendous and (whisper it) unspoilt. I can't recommend this place enough - go and have a lovely time!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2016
Thank you for your review. We are continuously improving at Ta Cikku....even though the photos have not caught up with the improvements yet. The pool and its surroundings are our favorite spot of the farmhouse. We try to make sure that our guests have a wonderful experience and a great holiday .....Gozo is great place to get away from it all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maninawhi...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A relaxing holiday home”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Victor was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Any requests for assistance were responded to promptly. We stayed for just over a week and Victor's flexibility in this respect was very much appreciated.

A welcome pack was provided for our arrival and once again this showed the thoughtful nature of the owners. We enjoyed the location and had some pleasant walks but also had a hire car. To enjoy Xaghra and Gozo to the fullest it would be best to have a hire car. You are a good 15 minutes stroll from Xaghra Square (restaurants, bakers, supermarkets and butchers) so should take this into consideration. There are a number of supermarkets close by and a very good Gozitan restaurant with welcoming owners near the Toy Museum, about 10 minutes stroll.

There is a BBQ and a gas oven with four gas rings and a microwave that will allow you to cook some basic meals. Kitchen dining area is good for upto six people. The lounge has reclining armchairs and sofa that are very comfortable. The pool area is good and has three lounge recliners.

Be careful about parking, if you have a hire car, and take care not to block garage entrances. All in all a very enjoyable holiday in a peaceful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge and pool area plus Victor's helpful and thoughtful nature
Liked least: Kitchen utensils - the vegetable peeler and can opener need replacing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2016
Thank you for your review. We do try our best to make sure that guests have an enjoyable holiday. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. As you say the location of the farmhouse is great as it provides peace and tranquillity and yet it is not far away from the village amenities. We are continuously trying to improve the standard of the farmhouse...such as the new sofa and armchairs. Thanks once again for choosing our quaint farmhouse and for your helpful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor R
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I would stay here again and again”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place to stay, from all angles it is a lovely house, in a nice area, with a fabulous pool and outdoor space.

The owner Victor was incredibly friendly and helpful which was a bonus.

You need to pay for the aircon through a meter - advice for people staying here, make sure you go round the entire house when you put the money in the meter and turn off any units you do not need on as it can eat into your credit if you fail to realise you are running a unit in an empty room! The aircon units are very effective and worthwhile paying for when it gets so hot.

The kitchen is well equipped and we had everything we needed for an easy stay.

We hired a car and spent a good few days exploring the lovely area of Gozo - very close by there is a lovely quiet bay called Xwejni which we enjoyed visiting a couple of times, and plenty of restaurants along the coast at Marsalforn.

A large Lidl is within ten minutes drive of the villa which was great to stock up on the essentials at.

I would definitely recommend this property to friends and family and when i return to Gozo this will be at the top of my list.

Thanks Victor for a lovely stay x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
Thanks for your wonderful review. We try our best to provide any assistance required by guests so that the holiday can be as comfortable and as pleasant as possible. Apologies for the slight mishap with the a/c units in the empty rooms...we will try to make sure that they are switched off at the beginning of the stay. As you say, Gozo may not be a big island but it is well endowed with natural beauty and good restaurants. Thank you once again for your recommendation and it would be a great pleasure on our part to host you again if you decide to visit Gozo in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madalena...
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable house with pool”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a nice house close to the lovely Ramla Bay.
The house is big and comfortable, with lovely plants throughout and a well maintained pool.
Some of the fittings and furnishings are a bit tired i.e. old tatty sofa, broken shower cabin and the cooker could be a bit bigger in a house that fits more than 6 people.
The owner was prompt in responding to all queries. The alleyway and its houses are charming in an otherwise run down area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lovely pool
Liked least: Having to pay for air conditioning, this is not a cheap budget let
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2015
Thank you for your overall positive comments including the suggestions for improvement. We acknowledge that some features could be improved. We have bought the house recently and are in the proces of refurbishment where necessary. This year we have re-tiled the pool and installed air conditioners and have plans to continue with the refurbishment process even though we believe that it offers a good level of comfort. In so far as the location is concerned, the farmhouse is located on the outskirts of the village and that is really part of its beauty offering peace and tranquility. It is located in a residential area not far from the village core and also close to a panoramic walk with great country views close to Calypso's cave. Describing this area as rundown is somewhat harsh. Thank you for your overall positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniCork...
Qawra, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect farmhouse with exceptionally helpful owners”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Ta Cikku for 4 night and we will definitely be going back. Firstly, the owners, Sandra and Victor are lovely, caring people who went out of their way to be helpful before our stay and accommodate our sleeping arrangement! They were in touch frequently with details of the farmhouse, maps of how to find Ta Cikku, local supermarkets and many other bits of helpful information. The farmhouse is spotlessly clean, plenty of clean towels, every kitchen utensil you could need, payable air con, WiFi and many more great features. The pool is a perfect size and was even attended to while we were there to check all was in order. The outside eating area is in the shade so you can eat in comfort but the rest of the garden has sun all day. A truly great find and we cannot wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside area, perfect for family time.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2015
Thank you for your comments. We do try our very best to provide a great experience to our customers. That is why we keep in touch during the visit and address any difficulties as quickly as possible. One additional clarification ...it is only the air conditioner that is on pay-per-use....all the other amenities (including the wi-fi) are available at no extra cost. The outside eating area is also our favourite feature....our little paradise. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTHERHAM...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the photos dont do justice”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

we are currently staying in ta cikku what a beautiful farmhouse the sun is on the pool from 10am until 7pm ,this morning we went to a local supermarket JM, the owner packed our bags and brought us back he left us his phone number to give him a call and he will pick us up and drop us back off the next time we do our shopping .the farmhouse is immaculate clean,the 3 bedrooms all on en suite a fully equipped kitchen and outdoor barbecue for all our meals cannot find a fault ,the owners victor and sandra are lovely welcoming people 10 out of 10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2015
Thanks for the positive review. We try hard to ensure that guests are left with a great experience. The combination of the sunny pool and shade in the deck area is indeed one of the features we like very much. It is also comforting to note that you have tasted the hospitality of the Xaghra business community. I wish you a pleasant and comfortable stay for the remaining days of your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The farmhouse was great - having spent the weekend in Valletta, it was perfect for escaping the hustle and bustle, with lots of space, a nice small pool and situated in a quiet part of Gozo on the outskirts of Xaghra. A bargain, no frills stay.

The position for seeing the sights of Gozo was good. Having a car meant every part of the island was accessible from the farmhouse, including Marsalforn for scuba diving.

Viktor was very helpful and flexible in terms of arranging for the key pick up and explaining how everything works at the farmhouse. The only thing to watch out for were the internal spiral staircase leading up to the first floor as they turn at quite a tight angle and wouldn't be suitable for older people or others who aren't sure-footed! The first floor can also be accessed from the front courtyard so bags etc can be carried up that way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2015
Thanks for your positive review. The farmhouse indeed is a place where you can relax and wind down. At the same time it is within walking distance of the village centre where there a number of good quality restaurants. The location of Xaghra is also quite central in Gozo. We acknowledge your comment about the internal staircase which tends to be a standard feature in many Gozitan farmhouses. As you mentioned there is also more comfortable access to the first floor via the external staircase from the internal courtyard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing