We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornucopia Gozo”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cornucopia Gozo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel was comfortable and welcoming. The staff were all friendly especially in restaurant.
Food was average, coffee... Nescafé , o.k. If you like that, we went to the town cafe for coffee! Met some lovely people and beautiful cats!
Gozo Is an amazing place, lots to do and see. Travel by local buses, very cheap, timetable needed. We fell for the taxis con that buses were slow and journey would be 2 hours. We later discovered the buses went to ferry, much, much cheaper and took 20 minutes!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peppapaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Trip advisor member,
We really appreciate the time to review your recent stay at Cornucopia Hotel. We are pleased to read that on the whole you had a good holiday.
We hope to welcome you back to Gozo and to Cornucopia Hotel.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    247
    78
    16
    6
See reviews for
160
397
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed for one night in the Junior Suite for my boyfriend's birthday. The room was very spacious, clean, large balcony, central heating, and spacious bathroom. The scenic view was incredible. We were on a B&B basis. The breakfast was good, and staff nice and helpful.

A suggestion is to refurbish the bathrooms, and a few details in the room such as the shades, lights, and doors.

We had an overall very good stay, and we would stay again. Thanks

Room Tip: the view of the junior suite is great, especially during sunrise. recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Spiral84
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at the Cornucopia Hotel.
We are really pleased that all went well for you, and that you enjoyed the suite. I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have two junior suites and one of them is currently being fitted with a new bath room. If all goes as planned will also do the suite you were in.
Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned from a stay at the Cornucopia. Like many other reviews the rooms are basic however have an element of charm that draws you to them. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. Me and my girlfriend would have happily stayed there longer and were slightly gutted when our 5 nights were up. Maria and Josh were especially helpful.

Only fault the fridge didn't work in the room.

Room Tip: No fitness centre however 2 pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie0072004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Scottie 007 2004,
Thank you for finding the time to share your experience of your recent stay at Cornucopia Hotel with Trip advisor community.
We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Maria and Joshua send their regards
Hope to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My dad and I stayed here for a whilst on a diving holiday, and we definitely would love to return.

The room was very basic, but very large and clean, the air con never seemed to work- which is why I haven't rated 5 (excellent).

However, the staff were all so friendly, helpful and cheerful. They all seemed to bend over backwards for you.

The evening meal was always delicious. We ate out only once at night as the food was to a great standard. The choice of the specials 3 starters and mains always varied. We also ate from the A La carte menu- which too was great.

On a Sunday there was an all you can eat BBQ- which had a lovely atmosphere and tonnes of food!

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear bedslug,
We really appreciate your time to review your stay with us back in September, as feedback is highly important to us.
Your comments about the Hotel in general and about the staff have been noted and shared by all the staff.
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Cornucopia hotel is a nice and charming hotel on the outskirts of the village of Xaghra. Our room was quite spacious, clean and comfortable with a lovely view over the valley of Marsalforn.
Initially we were booked on a bed and breakfast basis, but after dining there on our first evening,we decided to change to a half board basis for we enjoyed our meal very much. On the Friday there is a carvery night with live music. Also the breakfast was really good with plenty of choice (continental as well as cooked breakfast).
All the staff is extremely helpful, friendly and polite. They make you feel right at home. No wonder that some of the guests we spoke to were repeat guests.
There is free WIFI available in the lobby of the hotel and in the rooms against a small fee.
We did not use the pools since it was winter, but we can imagine that they will be very popular in the summer.
We found the hotel to be a good starting point for walks and also from the center of the village there is a bus service and the hop on hop off.
The island is simply beautiful with historic places, a beautiful country side and lovely beaches.
We had a nice relaxing holiday and will hopefully be back again in the near future.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra for a valley view room. The view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Miriam J.
Thank you for finding the time to share your experience of your recent stay at Cornucopia Hotel, with trip advisor community.
It is with great pleasure to read that all was up to your expectations.
Hope to welcome you back
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel looked great on the website, really capturing the old magic of Gozo. On arrival, the hotel did seem quite attractive, with a quaint and peaceful atmosphere, tucked away in a tranquil and scenic spot. My first impression wasn't great, however, as the receptionist was on a personal call (she probably thought I was a tourist and didn't understand Maltese). She left me waiting for a minute or so before pushing a card over the desk and gesturing me to fill it in, all the while still chatting away. I thought this behaviour towards a newly arriving guest was quite unprofessional in a four star hotel. Then, she couldn't find my booking. In fairness, the other staff were all friendly and courteous. The room was fairly comfortable and offered lovely views across the valley, but I wouldn't class it as a four star - three perhaps. Not a bad hotel on the whole, and I'd consider staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear mdone8,
Thank you for finding the time to post your review and for your lovely comments about the Hotel in general.
We highly appreciate it for bringing forward your experience upon check in. Please accept our apologies for any short comings, as we know and understand that first impressions are highly important.
Stay assured that your comment has been fully noted and acted on.
Hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Together with my family we dined at the Cornucopia Hotel in Xaghra Gozo. Must admit this is a place where people care and for sure we will be back again. The location, the food, and the friendly service was second to none.

Room Tip: We dined in the evening, but for sure we would have loved it even more if we been to the place in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Anthony g,
Thank you for finding the time to review your dining experience. We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your evening from all aspects.
We look forward to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
3.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quaint Boutique Hotel Nadur
1.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Property: Cornucopia Hotel
Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing