We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alan2013”
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Although were not staying in the hotel we soon found that the service, friendliness, helpfulness and awareness of our needs contributed to a great holiday experience that we will never forget.

Assistance with flight formalities was voluntarily offered by a hotel manager and proved to be invaluable.

It is unlikely that we will visit Gozo again (but Never Say Never) but if we do, we will head for the
Cornucopia accommodation and first class service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Alan 2013,
Thank you for sharing your experience with trip advisor community.
Your comments are highly appreciated; it was our pleasure to help you out.
Wish you all the best.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 764 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed for the 3rd time in this hotel this time in a bungalow. The location is ideal for those who wish to enjoy the typical countryside of Gozo, while being so close to basic needs. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff are so dedicated on their job. We wish to thank the general manager Brian Caruana for being so helpful with the booking! Thanks once again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephs1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Josephs1995,
Thank you for finding the time to post your review.
We are pleased to read that once again all was to your satisfaction, especially your comments about our food quality and above all about our valued staff.
Hope to welcome you back.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Very nice, clean and well appointed apartments which are fully equipped for self catering. We had a two bedroom bungalow which was very spacious and had a fantastic large patio which looked down into a beautiful valley towards ramala hamra. From the balcony was a stair case which took you to a private swimming pool shared by two or three other bungalows. Prices are very reasonable. It is an easy walk to the village of Xahra and also has plenty of parking. Only criticism is that the toilets in our bungalow (we had two large bathrooms) did not work properly and there was some weird trick needed to flush them which we never quite figured out. Have stayed there twice and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Bungalows have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LetsGo869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Letsgo869,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay in one of our bungalows.
We are glad to read that once again you were satisfied with our services and hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

my boyfriend and I stayed for the 3rd time in this hotel this time was the better one since we visited, the hotel its getting better and better as I noticed they are doing are great jobs in bathrooms , turning to a modern look, cleaning was good ,food in the restaurant was good either when its to breakfast and even in during dinner the restaurant staff is so dedicated on their job they treat you in a manner to welcome and comfortable you during your b'fast/dinner. we really enjoy the room , we had a valley view room,still there are some issues regarding mtn to be take care of specialy when it comes secure rooms. And I wish to give a tip about pillows aren't so comfortable. I wish to thank the general manager Brian Caruana to attend to our needs to makes us comfortable .we really enjoyed it and for sure we will be back for other break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Vanessa,
Thank you for finding the time to share your experience on trip advisor.
We are glad that you liked the new bathrooms and the Hotel’s amenities. Your comments about our staff are highly appreciated and will be shared by the whole team.
Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you again.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is one of the most charming hotels I've ever stayed in. I took my Guide Dog with me and he was made most welcome by all the staff - who didn't fuss over us either.

The rooms are spacious and kept very clean. The beds were large and comfortable and the bathrooms were sparkling.

The hotel grounds are lovely. I particularly like the entrance, which is a beautiful grotto hidden between the street and reception. This also means that children (and dogs) can't escape! The bar, lounge and poolside areas are spacious and well-kept. Although the hotel was full, it still felt quiet and relaxed.

We stayed on a half-board basis and very much enjoyed the food. There was a good choice at breakfast and dinner, with an extensive list of local and European wines. Vegetarians may want to stray off the house menu though, as an omelette was offered every night (maybe a pasta dish would work better here).

The hotel is located in a peaceful part of Xaghra, with amazing views over the valley. If you don't hire a car it's a ten-minute walk up to the town square, where you can take in the glorious church, eat at the handful of cafés and restaurants whilst waiting for the bus to Victoria or the coast route to Marsafalon or Ramla. A car would be useful if you're planning on a lot of sightseeing, but we were happy to slow the pace down and use the bus (which is on time).

On our first night we had an issue with the room, and without any fuss the staff assessed the problem, gave us another (better) room, helped us move and had workmen in the next day to fix it. they certainly take their customer service seriously, which is probably why a number of the other guests we spoke to were repeat visitors. We certainly will be.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank potatofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Potato family,
Thank you for finding the time to place a review on Trip advisor.
It was our pleasure to welcome you at the Cornucopia Hotel. We are really appreciative of your comments regarding our staff and the Hotel in general.
Wish you all the best, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed for the second year running at the Cornucopia, this time in a suite rather than the bungalow that we had last year. Would highly recommend, very spacious, well appointed, large room, huge bathroom, great balcony. Breakfast is standard buffet style, nothing to complain about, plenty of choice and pleasant surroundings. We were B & B so cant comment on evening meals, we preferred to walk into Xaghra and eat al fresco in the village square. The staff are lovely, Brian and his team go out of their way to be welcoming, and we recognised many of the staff from last year, always a good sign. This hotel is well situated for a quiet break, the village is lovely and the locals very friendly and welcoming, and you can walk to many places quite easily, or get a bus to anywhere on the island. Weather was very hot as well, so a bonus (for us, although the locals were wanting some rain!) Will be returning next year.

Room Tip: A valley view room gives stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Salandmick,
Thank you for your repeat visit and for finding the time to review it.
We are pleased to read that you found your accommodation and Holiday satisfactory.
We look forward to welcome you next year.
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for a week out of season in October. On the first night we arrived late and we were allocated a very small room which was stuffy and inadequate. After speaking to the manager in the morning we were moved to large triple room which was a vast improvement, however, the beds were old and creaky with very hard mattresses and cheap pillows. In general the hotel is very good and the staff friendly and helpful with excellent food on offer. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel if you are looking for somewhere quiet to chill out and relax completely. Most residents were middle aged couples or single persons with only a couple of families with young children. Not recommended for teenagers. If the rooms were upgraded slightly it would make all the difference.

Room Tip: Don't take a room low down across from the pool area. Garden view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear ruggiebabe,
Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip advisor community.
It was a pleasure to change rooms for you as your satisfaction is what matters. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay, especially your comments about our staff.
Wish you all the best
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
2.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 3 in Sannat
851 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.2 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
747 reviews
3 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range: $61 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing