We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque”
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited the Cornucopia Hotel from 5th July for a week and found it a very pleasing and restful. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The only criticism (if you can call it that) is it was a little bit too quiet in the evenings and a couple of nights we would have appreciated maybe some light entertainment or soft background music to encourage you to stay at the hotel rather than walk up to the square - wasnt too keen on the twin beds either!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb-Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Deb-Tony W

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor Users. Such feedback is essential as it helps us to continuously improve our in-house services.

thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you again in the very near future.

Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Cornucopia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 735 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just had 3 nights here with my wife and little boy.

Very peaceful and relaxing. 3 fresh water pools (including a childrens) plenty of loungers and shade.

We had room 35, a triple room overlooking a quiet side street. A/C, ceiling fan, new bathroom, mini bar (water) and flat screen TV with a mix of Maltese, Italian and English speaking channels. Wifi throughout for a reasonable charge.

Clean place with friendly staff, on street parking outside. Didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast was good. Saturdays' BBQ night was packed with guests and locals.

Good value, we got B&B at £65/night.

We had a car to explore, not sure what the bus service is like in front of the hotel.

Will certainly return

Room Tip: Those overlooking the lower pool on a saturday night may be slightly disturbed by the BBQ night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank proffitt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Proffitt76,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience about your recent stay at Cornucopia Hotel with trip advisor community. We are delighted to read that your stay with us was a restful one.

Your kind comments about the Hotel’s amenities were well received, especially about our staff as I am sure that they will appreciate it.

We look forward to welcome you on your return visit

Yours Sincerely,

Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is in a very peaceful location and we found all the staff to be helpful and friendly. The grounds are attractive and well tended and have a choice of pools. It is well worth paying slightly more to have a valley view room where the vista across towards Victoria and down to Marsalforn is wonderful. The breakfasts included a choice of hot and cold foods and were more than adequate. All rooms are accessed via steps so this may cause a problem for young families or anyone with ability problems. We did not eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that but had several meals from the the snacks menu which were fine, good value and served outside by the pool. Admittedly the bathroom could do with a makeover but the positives far outweigh any negatives. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Cornucopia and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for a valley view room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsSmithSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Smith Swindon,
Thank you for finding the time to share your experience of your recent stay at Cornucopia Hotel. We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable holiday and that you plan a return visit. I would also like to mention that we have already changed some of the bath rooms last winter and plan to continue to do so this coming winter.
We look forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic weekend break with my family at the Cornucopia. Great location and hotel facilities but most of all fantastic staff ...always ready to be of assistance. I forgot the number of times we've been to the Cornucopia; all I know is that each time we go to Gozo we always stay at the Cornucopia and we were always treated excellently.

Room Tip: I would choose a valley view room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Stephen G.
Thank you for your kind comments, and we appreciate a lot your loyal custom.
We are pleased to read that every time you visited we met your expectations.
We hope to continue welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a fantastic home away from home. All the way down from the Manager, Brian Caruana, right down to the chambermaids, the friendliness and welcoming nature of the entire hotel staff is second to none. My wife and I visit on a regular basis, and we have never once been disappointed. The amazing thing is, that almost the entire staff remain there year after year - must be testimony to their job satisfaction.
The country views are awesome, unless your room overlooks the pool, in which case you can still enjoy the daily activity around the hotel.
Thank you Cornucopia staff for providing a truly comfortable and pleasant accommodation time after time.
Phillip and Rita.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip250253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Phillip,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

It was a pleasure to read that you always enjoyed your stay with us at the Cornucopia Hotel. Your lovely comments have been shared with all the team.

I do hope that we will have the honor to continue welcoming you both back in the near future.

Best Regards

Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed for 8 days in June at this charming hotel and cannot praise the ambience and staff enough. Good old fashioned attitude to service, the dining room had a level of service you very rarely see today and food overall was very good. Drinks and wine reasonably priced - which was nice as the village centre where most of the bars are situated is a good 10-15 mins walk uphill.

Beds comfortable, sufficient hangers in the wardrobes and a nice bathroom, linen changed frequently as were the towels.

There are two small swimming pools which were great for cooling off as the temperature was between 30-34C whilst we were there; the upper pool is surrounded by a pleasant garden area with the walls dripping with bourganvillia and other plants and JOY OF JOY no piped music in the pool areas, just bird song later in the afternoon and very muted but pleasant music in the dining room.

It was our 45th wedding anniversary whilst we were there and Brian the hotel manager kindly arranged for us to have the use of the spa and grounds of their 5* hotel the Ta'Cenc and took us there himself. A kind gesture which was very much appreciated.

All in all we enjoyed our holiday very much and hope to be return some day but next time will hire a car - as the bus service whilst radiating out from Victoria and covering the island is an interesting experience!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorenceBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Florence Bucks

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the Cornucopia Hotel.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words regarding our food, service, and especially that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary day were well received. I will share your review with the rest of the staff as I am sure that they will appreciate it a lot.



Whilst wishing you both all the best,
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Cornucopia. Brian the manager couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Arrived in the dark so we woke up to the views from our room which were fantastic. Excellent breakfast. This is a lovely place to come and relax and enjoy the sun and sights of Gozo.

The village centre is lovely and the location of the hotel is perfect for getting around. It was one of the nicest villages on the island.

Thoroughly recommend the bungalows - not many of them were occupied when we were there so most of the time we had the pool to ourselves. Glorious!

Thanks Brian for being so helpful and making our holiday a wonderful week.

Room Tip: Choose a country view room or a bungalow.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank healeyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear HealeyBristol,
We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience of your recent stay at the Cornucopia Hotel. It was our pleasure to have met you and an even greater pleasure to read that we contributed for a relaxing week.
Hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
828 reviews
3.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range: $62 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing