We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Staffs, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We had been inside before, but only for a drink. This time on Gozo we decided on a hotel rather than a villa now we are only two. We were not disappointed. Spent a lovelt relaxing week on half board at the Cornucopia. The staff are all a delight - nothing is too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is excellent - we had no need to eat out all week! The room was comfortable and kept very clean with fresh towels daily. OK , the decor etc. is in a time warp but this is Gozo and part of its charm. It was very quiet even for Whitsun break. Some days there were only 4 or 6 around the pool! So, no fighting for sun loungers. Speaking of which my only suggestion would be for a supply of new ones. More than half of the existing ones are broken. We shall return to this little haven.
One note of warning would be to say this hotel in my opinion is not particularly small child friendly, or suitable for the very infirm or those with mobility problems due to the steps and lack of lifts.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soot-case
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    247
    78
    16
    6
See reviews for
160
397
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Very nice hotel, friendly staffs, nice food, clean room and fantastic view. Enjoyed the carvery with the live band. I can only suggest recreational room for kids especially in cold months when they cannot enjoy the pool, because they have no heated pool.But overall we enjoyed our stay, nice place to relax and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gildaqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle,england
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

we came back on the 22nd March 2011. The hotel is charming, but a car is an absolute must,even waliking to town square could be difficult for less mobile.The reception , lounge and breakfast room is lovely, the pool area is nice too, but the first floor rooms were terrible.The hairdrier was broken, the fridge didnt work, the toilet leaked and the bathroom was dated . I was told by another guest that the other rooms were very nice but I cant comment on that. The staff were lovely and helpfull.The area has stunning views and we did enjoy our holiday, but its time it was updated

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3jays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

A pretty little hotel. We went in February when it was quiet. A little too cold for the pool, the beach or snorkelling at the Blue Lagoon. But the staff made sure we had an unforgettable trip. Breakfast was great and the room was clean and comfortable with a fantastic view from the balcony. The main square in the sleepy village of Xaghra is about ten minutes walk away and has several bars, restaurants and a church worth visiting. We timed our visit, accidentally, with the street carnival at Nadur which exceeded all expectations. Gozo had plenty to keep us occupied and the people were so friendly and genuine. During our twelve days we ventured back to Malta only once. We had lifts from locals to places of interest and more than one suggestion to sell up and live there. We're still thinking about it.
Negatives? Well, taxis are a bit pricey by UK standards. And the peppercorn sauce at the Cornucopia was... unusual.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
5 Thank Strewth101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

This is a quiet former farmhouse, with rooms around a central courtyard with pool. It is in a quiet corner of the laid-back town of Xaghra, in the laid-back island of Gozo, so expect a relaxing time. The rooms are clean, well-kept and spacious. Staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful and there is quite a good restaurant on the premises. The hotel will arrange taxi transfer to and from the Malta ferry (a bit cheaper than doing it yourself). There were few guests there in February and the weather wasn't suitable for lounging by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Espedair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

I had a really comfortable stay at the Cornucopia – The rooms are clean and well appointed and the views from the valley rooms are simply sensational. All of the facilities and amenities are really outstanding and there are some lovely terraces and lounges in various parts of the hotel.

I had breakfast (buffet) and evening meals (a la carte) in the hotel and the food was always fresh and wholesome. Situated within short walking distance of Xaghra square there are also several shops, bars and restaurants nearby.

Overall I was impressed with the quality and levels of the services provided including free WiFi in communal areas, laundry on request and a reliable taxi service to the ferry port – I would like to thank Brian and his first-class team for making me feel so welcome…Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamrun
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We went there for a short break to pass the new year in Gozo and we were really delighted.
It was the first time that we visited this hotel and definately it won't be the last.The rooms are large in size,nice gozitan decor,lcd tv,frigobar and a good sized bathroom.The cleanliness of the rooms and all the hotel common areas is perfect also like the bed linen and towels.

The staff are very polite and would do their utmost to accomodate all your requirments.I would also like to point out that we had a valley view room and believe me that these rooms have the best view of the valley and distant sea views that we have experienced in a hotel.

Well done Cornucopia and keep this standard!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
4 Thank Emanuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
3.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quaint Boutique Hotel Nadur
1.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Property: Cornucopia Hotel
Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing