We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Delicous and splendid view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gianni's

Gianni's
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: My son Stefano and I moved from Torino, in the North West of Italy, to Gozo after coming here on holiday several times. The reason is that we were in love with the people, the way of live and the sea that this island was offering us. Here we noticed that the italian cooking is well known and reproduced mainly concerning courses that belong to the South of Italy. On the contrary, we've hardly had the pleasure to taste some of the ones from the North. In order to supply to this lack, we would like to introduce some of the traditional courses from the North of Italy and, in the same time, to propose the favourite local dishes (excellent fish, savoury meat, ripe vegetables...) but differently cooked, following our own special style.We will try to make you experience unprecedented flavours, discover unknown virtues of already famous food in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere where to spend happy hours. We will make any effort to make you satisfied. Thank you.Gianni
Gharb, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, Delicous and splendid view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We came at the end of a nice day to Giannis Restaurant. A very friendly and familiar italian atmosphere brought us a nice stay. The splendid view from the terrasse (we came by sunset) and the delicious meal were a great and unforgettable pleasure. Father Gianni and son Stefano are great hosts who made us feel warmly welcome as among friends. It is very worth visiting if you want to spend some hours which you will remember for a long time. Thank You.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasterviewer, Proprietario at Gianni's, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for you nice review! My son and I strive every day to reach this goal: make people spend a great dinner in a nice place eating great food. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    37
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Loved it without the windows!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Gianni's a lot and the food is always excellent. Now the windows are gone from the terrace the experience is even better as there is an uninterrupted view across Marsalforn valley. The hazelnut ricotta cake is particularly good! Really light and tastes wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano_Remondino, Public Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
It's always nice to have you and I'm very happy that we keep delivering to you good experiences with a touch of novelty every time.
It will be a pleasure having you with us next time you are in Gozo.

Sincerely
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic view and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We went there for dinner yesterday eve. The food is simply delicious a must if you are in gozo.. Keep up the good work :) will definitely come again

Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano_Remondino, Public Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much!
I am really glad you enjoyed your visit and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

After a swim in Marsalforn - walk uphills to Xaghra, and on the top, you will find Giannis. Only fresh food, friendly and laughing staff - both the cook and the waiter. The food tastes wonderful, the view is splendid. The interior is tasteful and modern. They open at 18.30, and to get a table outside with a view, be there in good time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annemgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano_Remondino, Public Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi,
Thank you very much for this splendid review! I think you resumed it all: fresh food, friendly people and great view! We always do our best to make your experience the best.

Hope to see you next time you are in Gozo.
Kindly
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Giannis, great location great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just back from our holiday in Gozo, a place we visit regularly. We had not visited this restaurant previously as when you go to a place regularly you tend to visit the same places for meals. We are very glad we visited this time, it has great location with a terrace that has great views looking to Marsalforn Bay and the Citadel. A restaurant cannot rely solely on location and Giannis delivers both on food and service. We were impressed on our first visit when we turned up without a booking and we booked a second visit that night. Father and son run the show, Gianni is the chef and Stefano runs front of house. Both meals we had were excellent and Stefano took the time to explain all the processes involved in creating each dish. The restaurant has only been open about 11 months and it truly deserves to succeed. Good decor as well with some fine glass work exhibits from a shop in Victoria, Corona Glass also worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano_Remondino, Public Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review and for the repeated visits.
I'm really glad you enjoyed it so much and I hope that we entered that circle of regular places to visit on your holidays here in Gozo.
We are always happy to have customers who are interested in what we do, how we do it and why we do it like that, and I am always ready to answer and to get to know my clientele a bit. So again, thank you very much for coming, for the appreciation and see you next time.

Kind regards,
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gianni's also viewed

Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Gianni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing