We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chinese restaurant that makes you go back”
Review of Xi-Xi

Xi-Xi
Ranked #10 of 19 Restaurants in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $34
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Xaghra, Malta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Chinese restaurant that makes you go back”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Probably the first Chinese restaurant in Gozo. Mao Xi the proprietor has captured the taste of her clients and included in the menu food like calf liver, quails, and other food that the Gozitan people like. She is a perfect host always smiling and makes you feel at home in a quaint ambience. There are other dishes to choose like fresh fish cooked the Chinese way and is delicious, also available is Kangaroo and wild boar! The portions are more than adequate and the quality is always excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 121287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St.Julians. Malta.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WEEKLY VISIT TO XI XI'S.”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We go to XI XI;s every week. i think that is enough recommendation. When we do not go we usually get a 'take away'.

Reggie Delicata.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank regis151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Gozo for many years now, and every time we dine at XiXi's and are never disappointed. We dined there tonight and as soon as we entered XiXi remembered us, and we hadn't been in over 2 years. The food was very tasty, full of flavour, and good value for money. Excellent range of food, including food I've never seen in a UK Chinese restaurant, like Kangaroo, pigeon, ostrich and frogs legs. Great food, friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
257 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Worth another visit or three”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We try and eat here each time we visit Gozo so thats a good indicator of how much we like it. The restaurant opens at 6.30pm so we spent the day in Xaghra and then went there for tea. There is an extensive menu so something for everyone and also unusual stuff like frog legs, kangeroo and pigeon. The people who work in the restaurant are all friendly and warm and will usually accomodate you either if you havent booked.
For starters we had Onion Pae (delicious a bit like onion bhaji but much nicer), Spare Ribs and Spring Rolls all of which were delicious. We then had Duck cooked in Beer which was quite spicy and Chicken with Cashews. The prices are very reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabbar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Xi-Xi is the best Chinese restaurant in Gozo. The food is excellent, very good service and relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine-Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi-Xi also viewed

Victoria, Island of Gozo
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Xi-Xi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing