We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and worth a view”
Review of Ta' Kola Windmill

Ta' Kola Windmill
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Xaghra
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OPEN MONDAY - SUNDAY from 09.00 Till 17.00Hrs (last admission at 16.30Hrs). Ta' Kola Windmill in Xaghra, Gozo, is one of the few surviving windmills on the Maltese Islands dating back to the Knights' Period. Its origins go back to 1725 during the magistracy of Grand Master Manoel de Vilhena (1722-36). Nowadays, the windmill houses one of the largest known collections of tools, some of which were manufactured by the last miller who lived inside the mill. The site offers a glimpse into the traditional rural life of the locals during the past centuries.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Interesting and worth a view”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The windmill contains plenty of the tools used in the milling trade and lots of other interesting items. I found this well worth a visit.
It gets combined with a visit to Gigantia by many operators.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    76
    67
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ta'Kola Mill”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very interesting windmill with may old exhibits from days gone by, the mill was under repair when we went. The sails had been removed

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ta' Kola windmill”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had visited the temples in Xaghra so we had free entry to the windmill on the same day with our ticket. It was very interesting to see how the family lived and worked. The windmill was under restoration which was very important so we didn't mind. We were staying in xaghra anyway so we didn't need to go out of our way to see it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ...........
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ta Kola Windmill”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a lovely example of a Gozo windmill. Although it is currently having restoration work done and without its 6 sails, it is a gem.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bucket_list68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Gozo History”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stop and visit this windmill and its museum. There's a lot of history and the docents are particularly knowledgeable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Kola Windmill also viewed

Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Ta' Kola Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing