We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Sunday lunch”
Review of Oleander

Oleander
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pleasant Sunday lunch”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We enjoyed Sunday lunch here as a family while on holiday in Gozo. Our waiter was friendly and accommodated our various preferences. There were several specials in addition to the printed menu. The service was leisurely, which suited us, and the tasty food was served in generous potions. The restaurant is clearly popular with the locals as we saw several families as well as the priest dinning here. We can see why they like it and would recommend Oleander!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    156
    51
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We found the Oleander while strolling around Gozo after a visit to the Ggantja Temples,
What a find we were treated to the best meal we have had in a long time, I had the Garlic mushrooms followed by the Sea food spaghetti which was packed with beautiful fresh mussels, prawns, squid and clams all coated in a delicious sauce.
My partner had the fresh Rocket and feta salad followed by fresh grilled Sea Bream and Red Snapper that the waiter kindly filleted for him at the table.
I can not fault any off the lunch, service or surrounding a fantastic end to the day trip.
Well done

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debzts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The restaurant was a pleasant surprise! Food was excellent and well presented. The service was most efficient and the overall atmosphere was warm. The décor was simple with most original features preserved.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 75ARG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millicent, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A marvelous lunch”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

An appetite developed after visiting the Ggantija Temples was sated with a delicious grilled sea bass. Accompanied by a lovely Gozitan white wine it was just perfect sitting in the sunshine in the atmospheric town square. I was joined by one of the local cats, who obviously is aware of the quality on offer at "Oleander" and together we managed to leave only the bones and tail. An excellent coffee and friendly, efficient and professional service completed a very enjoyable day. The only problem is that the magazine promoting Gozo has the restaurant positioned in the wrong place in Xaghra's Victory Square ( not the only error that I found in this publication - More careful research needed ! ).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnF1211957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Had a some good meals at this restaurant, try the spaghetti with rabbit sauce.
Highly recommended. Thank you Bryan and Martin for taking good care of us.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knightsinmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleander also viewed

Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Oleander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing