We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely dinner experience”
Review of Oleander

Oleander
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marsa Scala, null, Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely dinner experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Oleander this weekend (5-7 July, 2013) for dinner. I really like the location, at the centre of the pjazza with the beautiful imposing church, a very traditional and tranquil environment which is nice to relax in for a family dinner. The service is really good here, the waiters are very nice, they greet you with a smile, they take the time to speak to you and carefully explain the daily specials etc. We had soup, steak, beef olives and chicken. The portions were adequate, food presentation was great as well as the quality of the taste. One small flaw with the food, and I hope that this review is seen by the owner/chef of the restaurant is the side vegetable dish. The vegetables were slightly hard and undercooked, maybe we were unlucky on that occasion? Other than that food was very nice and in the end we also had some of their nice home made ice cream which left us a nice sweet taste and a smile throughout the evening. Yes I would recommend The Oleander to any of my family members/friends. The prices are within the standard prices you expect to pay at a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YvetteGrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    151
    51
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous meal, excellent service and food, i had the rib eyed steak. Sooooo tasty. The house fish special was delicious. Everyone was really friendly. Looking forward to our next visit. Highly recommend it. Very good value

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Triciaillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, but poor service”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

A realy nice atmosphere and delicious food, but what happened to service? Maybe just one of the waiters was having a bad day, regardless it's unfortunate to eat out and feel ignored. The food is possible one of the best in Gozo, so I guess it's worth a visit when everyone is having a good day

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sindre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Food here was consistently high quality using local produce. Ended up eating here four nights in succession - it was close to our accommodation at Cornucopia Hotel and was so good. The venison, lamb fillet and quail main courses were exceptional. Ice creams were gorgeous - other deserts were not as special and naughty as they could be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank healeyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xaghra, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable price in a superb setting”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

In the square, in front of the majestic church, the restaurant offer inside and outside accomodation (obviously depending on the weather!). From June onwards, outside is a must.

The menu offers a good range of local and international dishes and the prices are easily affordable for locals and tourists alike.

The service is prompt and personal. Brian, the boss is young and enthusiastic. He is backed up by a small and professional crew who make your eating experience a pleasure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleander also viewed

Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Oleander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing