We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gozitan tradition at its very best”
Review of Ta' Mena Estate

Ta' Mena Estate
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ta’ Mena Estate is the first agri-tourism complex in the Maltese Islands. This estate offers an experience with a difference where our guests will be in touch with nature and tradition, enjoying typical foods, wines and liqueurs with a touch of the Mediterranean sunshine.At Ta’ Mena we produce typical Gozitan products, making use of traditional recipes which were passed over to us by our forefathers. These include the very popular Sun- dried Sweet Tomato Paste (Kunserva Helwa), Pickled Onions, Olives in Oil, Wild Capers in Vinegar, Cold Pressed Extra Virgin Olive Oil, various liqueurs and dessert wines and Gozo Peppered Cheese-lets amongst others.We at Ta’ Mena Estate grow our own grapes to produce great wines with a particular Gozitan character. We are proud that ten of our blends have been certified as GOZO D.O.K. Wines (Certified Denomination of Origin) which is the highest wine certification for Maltese wines. We also have two I.G.T. wines which certify that they have been produced from Gozo grown grapes.Therefore when you are visiting Gozo come and visit us at Ta’ Mena Estate for free wine and food tastings. We promise that you will not be disappointed!
Reviewed March 25, 2014

A unique agri-tourism experience. Genuine products in a unique environment in the Maltese Islands. The owner managed to bring together family tradition and natural habitat to produce excellent products. So meticulous in his approach and professional attitude that makes his brand the most good value for money.

Thank AntoineScicluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Owner at Ta' Mena Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thanks very much for your encouragement. Looking forward to welcoming you again at our estate.

Best regards
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 300 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you are after exquisite homemade delicacies such as olive oil, tomato paste, sun-dried tomatoes, goat cheeselets, pickles, wine and much more ... this place is a must visit. A culinary experience like no other, in such a charming natural environment!!

The owner and his family will guide you through the estates and explain all the peculiarities and their livestock, goats, and other animals in the farm. In addition, they are willing to share all their knowledge and experience on the cultivation of herbs, olive and citrus orchards, vegetables and vineyards with the visitors.

I have just visited this place with a group of 150 people and was undoubtedly a memorable day for all of us.

All this for extremely reasonable prices!!

Thank silvio_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Owner at Ta' Mena Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. I would like to compliment you for the extremely well educated group that visited us last Sunday. We really enjoyed serving you and look forward to welcoming you again in our estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

It is worth while visiting this estate where the owner welcomes you with open arms ! The tasting of excellent wines, olive oil , tomato paste, limoncello and other locally made products, was delicious and interesting to learn about these products. He made this into a great experience !
You can buy all the products in a little store on the estate. A must !

Thank wimpeldoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Owner at Ta' Mena Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2015

Thank you very much for your comments. We are always trying to do our best to present the best Gozitan products to our guests.

best regards
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed in Gozo for a week and did my food shopping there. The products I bought (cheese, fruits, jams etc) were excellent and very reasonably priced. I recommend the prickly pear jam !

Thank Happy-and-smiling-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Owner at Ta' Mena Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your compliments. Hope to see you again in our estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I really enjoyed the experience. It was so relaxing. The place is lovely, the food and the wine was very much to my liking. I think it is perfect because I felt pampered. Good food and wine, good company, great host.

Thank MaltaSylvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Owner at Ta' Mena Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. Hope to welcome you again in our estate where we will be adding more attractions in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Mena Estate also viewed

 
Island of Gozo, Malta
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Ta' Mena Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing