We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, Special Dinner ”

Ta' Frenc Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The story of Ta’ Frenc as we know it today is the story of two very young men, Ino Attard and Lino Cefai, who, more than 30 years ago, recognised in the crumbling limestone walls of this centuries-old farmhouse, a possibility, a dream, a promise, a renaissance. Literally stone by stone, step by step archway by archway, they restored the building without destroying its soul. Original features such as the animal mangers were retained and these are now a feature of the bar area. The high-ceilinged airy interior is divided into different areas by archways and screens. Mature trees were retained, and others planted. And thus they created Auberge Ta’ Frenc, which opened its doors to the public on 22 May 1982. Checked red and white tablecloths, rustic French-style furniture and a classic French menu greeted their first guests, many of whom remain faithful customers today, of the internationally renowned restaurant now known simply as Ta’ Frenc Restaurant. Despite its name and pronunciation, Ta’ Frenc has nothing to do with France. It means Francis’ place; Francis was the farmer who owned the building.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I chose Ta’ Frenc for our anniversary dinner and were not disappointed. They offered a regular menu with a variety of main dishes and small plates, a 7-course tasting menu, and a 3-course tasting menu. We chose the 3-course and were not disappointed! We each had the traditional Maltese fish soup, paccheri with rabbit for the second course, and for our mains I had beef cheeks with a potato purée and my husband had pork belly. Each course was flavorful, fresh, and perfectly cooked. The beef cheeks literally melted in your mouth, easily cut with just a fork. The rabbit was divine, unlike any rabbit I’ve had before, with the pasta being hearty and obviously freshly homemade. Each course was timed perfectly, allowing us to enjoy the dish and our champagne between. Before even ordering, the chef even sent over a crispy fried prawn, complimentary. Delicious, and a nice touch. The service was attentive and courteous, taking care to refill our water and champagne glasses as needed. The ambience was intimate and romantic. All in all, a perfect anniversary dinner. Highly recommended for a fine dining experience in Gozo that’s worth dressing up for!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 435 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

Ta Frenc is a very special restaurant. The food and service are of the highest standard and is always a highlight of our visit to Gozo. It is always a wonderful experience.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank JeffT65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

Lovely restaurant, situated in a quiet area in Gozo. Cannot rave more about the lobster ravioli for starter as well as the chicken breast for main, and to top it off with some locally made ricotta canoli. The meal was just perfect in balance, and cannot wait to return.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

This place is very nice, it has the fine dining feel, but the service and food just isn’t quite to the standard you would expect for what you pay. But it is very good, just not hitting the fine dining mark for me.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank johnpaulcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

My husband and I are regular visitors to Ta Frenc restaurant when we visit Gozo from the UK, and always enjoy the great food and ambience. However this weekend we visited the restaurant as wedding guests. We were absolutely blown away by the venue, service, food and beverages. We were warmly welcomed by the wonderful Mary Grace, and also by Joseph, the restaurant manager who was on hand throughout the day. It was lovely to see some of the regular staff including Frederick and John. It was a large wedding (around 500 guests I believe) but the venue coped calmly and professionally and we barely waited for anything. There were copious delicious canapés, and several different food serving areas - a cheese table, sushi bar, pasta & risotto bar, meat and fish section including the most amazing barbecued prawns. We finished with delicate mini desserts and coffees . Everything was cooked to perfection and served piping hot and nothing tasted like mass catering. The venue has a spacious air conditioned interior and a substantial exterior which really came in to its own with the golden afternoon light, and fields as a backdrop. Congratulations to Ta Frenc for providing a really amazing wedding experience. The restaurant and wedding venue are both 5 star - highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Frenc Restaurant also viewed

 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Island of Gozo, Malta
 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Ta' Frenc Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing