We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding Venue”

Ta' Frenc Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The story of Ta’ Frenc as we know it today is the story of two very young men, Ino Attard and Lino Cefai, who, more than 30 years ago, recognised in the crumbling limestone walls of this centuries-old farmhouse, a possibility, a dream, a promise, a renaissance. Literally stone by stone, step by step archway by archway, they restored the building without destroying its soul. Original features such as the animal mangers were retained and these are now a feature of the bar area. The high-ceilinged airy interior is divided into different areas by archways and screens. Mature trees were retained, and others planted. And thus they created Auberge Ta’ Frenc, which opened its doors to the public on 22 May 1982. Checked red and white tablecloths, rustic French-style furniture and a classic French menu greeted their first guests, many of whom remain faithful customers today, of the internationally renowned restaurant now known simply as Ta’ Frenc Restaurant. Despite its name and pronunciation, Ta’ Frenc has nothing to do with France. It means Francis’ place; Francis was the farmer who owned the building.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

My husband and I are regular visitors to Ta Frenc restaurant when we visit Gozo from the UK, and always enjoy the great food and ambience. However this weekend we visited the restaurant as wedding guests. We were absolutely blown away by the venue, service, food and beverages. We were warmly welcomed by the wonderful Mary Grace, and also by Joseph, the restaurant manager who was on hand throughout the day. It was lovely to see some of the regular staff including Frederick and John. It was a large wedding (around 500 guests I believe) but the venue coped calmly and professionally and we barely waited for anything. There were copious delicious canapés, and several different food serving areas - a cheese table, sushi bar, pasta & risotto bar, meat and fish section including the most amazing barbecued prawns. We finished with delicate mini desserts and coffees . Everything was cooked to perfection and served piping hot and nothing tasted like mass catering. The venue has a spacious air conditioned interior and a substantial exterior which really came in to its own with the golden afternoon light, and fields as a backdrop. Congratulations to Ta Frenc for providing a really amazing wedding experience. The restaurant and wedding venue are both 5 star - highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 435 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2018

I have been there for Valentine's Day with my girlfriend (set-menu; special night). We were not welcomed nor acknowledged when we entered the restaurant, and had to ask where to put our coats The Maitre D' is very sloppy and the service is average for a fine dining restaurant. Nobody came to ask if we were enjoying our dinner, nor explaining in detail what we were eating (had to read off the menu). Food was good to be fair but not very "exciting" nor surprising. The basics are not there (pre-poured drinks, salt and pepper stays on the table for the dessert!, ect...). We asked for our coats on our way out, the "Maitre D'", if you can call him like that, pointed us towards the hangers but they were not there. We were awkwardly standing up next to other diners for a good 3 minutes until someone offered assistance. The restaurant relies on its history, great location and reputation. If you're looking for high quality of standards, that's not really the place..

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Diogo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2018

It was a nice relaxing evening, food was fantastic , great service from staff who were professional.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jonathanvella2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018

A beautiful restaurant, definitely recommend to visit whilst on Gozo...
Since we were a table of 10 and we pre-booked for a birthday, they gave us the private dining room which made the celebration fabulous and special - but the rest of the restaurant also has a great ambience as well! Everyone in our party enjoyed their courses, the food is delicious; and the wine selection is wonderful. The setting was gorgeous too, and the only reason for 4 stars rather than 5, was the service. Unfortunately it was rather inattentive and slow; but I think this was due to there being an extremely large event in the other separate part of the restaurant on the same night. We struggled for a long time to order drinks; finally we ordered wine but after that, they rarely appeared again to refill...and we had quite a few delays in everyone receiving their courses at the same time. However, we think it's due to them being under staffed/distracted by the other event on this occasion - we'd certainly visit Ta Frenc again.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

We have eaten at Ta Frenc a number of times over the years when holidaying in Gozo. When our daughter and her Fiancé decided to hold their wedding and reception in Ta Frenc we knew the service and food would be of a high standard.

From our first pre wedding visit the year before to our post wedding visit we couldn’t have been more pleased with the personal care and attention afforded to us by Joseph who manages the restaurant, and his team.

It is hard to explain just how perfectly everything came together with nothing too much trouble. The food was excellent as were the wines recommended by Joseph.

A really big thanks to everyone at Ta Frenc for making this day so special.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank JCE_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Frenc Restaurant also viewed

 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Island of Gozo, Malta
 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Ta' Frenc Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing