We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not to believe arrogance of waiters”

Ta' Frenc Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The story of Ta’ Frenc as we know it today is the story of two very young men, Ino Attard and Lino Cefai, who, more than 30 years ago, recognised in the crumbling limestone walls of this centuries-old farmhouse, a possibility, a dream, a promise, a renaissance. Literally stone by stone, step by step archway by archway, they restored the building without destroying its soul. Original features such as the animal mangers were retained and these are now a feature of the bar area. The high-ceilinged airy interior is divided into different areas by archways and screens. Mature trees were retained, and others planted. And thus they created Auberge Ta’ Frenc, which opened its doors to the public on 22 May 1982. Checked red and white tablecloths, rustic French-style furniture and a classic French menu greeted their first guests, many of whom remain faithful customers today, of the internationally renowned restaurant now known simply as Ta’ Frenc Restaurant. Despite its name and pronunciation, Ta’ Frenc has nothing to do with France. It means Francis’ place; Francis was the farmer who owned the building.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not to believe arrogance of waiters”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was looking forward to visit the one of the best restaurant on Gozo and Malta area. We just came to our hotel and i have to tell i am very dissapointed. Not cause of menu, they are really near first class. But restaurant is not only about eating. It is atmosphere - here great, ambiente - very romantic, offer menu-exclusive....BUT....but the waiters are not really friendly. They move all the time through restaurans as we - as the guests - should be happy to sit there...when we were asking for rest wine in our bottle we had suddenly feeling we did something wrong...BUT the most terrible thing why i will not go back here was that we were waiting for our transfer more than 40min - we let the restaurant phone our car - and our transfer waited for us 20 min outside of restaurant - he announced to waiters he is there - nobody told us also when we asked twice if our car is not there. I don't like these company battles - i am sure that was the reason - and i am very sorry for our driver he had to wair such a longtime....till we told to us we wait outside and we realised he is already there. If you want to eat good go there, but don't expect also good service. They have to learn a lot.L

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucia315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    59
    32
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best in Malta.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This restaurant serves the best meals of Gozo - period. and arguably the best of Malta. The food was superb on the two occasions we were there. On the second occasion they were fully booked due to a wedding (and diligently offered us a table) and yet the service, the friendliness and professionalism and the food was no less than impeccable; truly excellent experience we have had there. I congratulate the chef even though he was too shy to come out! Joseph and Rebecca - I would like to personally say thank you for your kindness and hospitality. I wish you both all the best.Take care.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow, how not to give a damn”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Got engaged at this restaurant 3 years ago and have been back every year since.
This year I rang in the uk and booked for our anniversary. The guy on the phone took the booking date ,name and contact number.
We were staying on comino and therefore needed to organise a boat to Gozo and back along with cabs to the restaurant and back from the harbour. So imagine how we felt when we arrived at the restaurant to find it shut.
Ended up spending 50euros in cabs and boats for nothing, plus ruined the anniversary.
What more can I say. Don't get why someone at the restaurant couldn't have done the decent thing and called to advise.
Very poor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
264 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Give them a Michelin Star !!!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful culinary experience in a lovely old farmhouse setting. Off the beaten track but has a great reputation..........well deserved. The honey duck was perfectloy cooked and presented. Chic and refined atmosphere with excellent service , good wine list ..........a MUST GO if you ever go to the island of GOZO.........some Michelin inspectors should make the effort !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1957Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ta Frenc not if you are a hungry vegetarian”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Ta Frenc is a fancy restaurant with an excellent garden, including herbal. Friendly but not very helpful waiter. Soup was really salty, but ok. Not much variety for veggies, but it looked good. Surprise: a few slices of grilled vegetable, and for my other guests a wee bit of pasta. Dessert was good , but amounts really miniscule. Other guests were smoking during our dinner. Not worth the reputation it is supposed to have. Left with a belly ache and hungry...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GanVanSamkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Frenc Restaurant also viewed

 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Ta' Frenc Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing