We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Gozo”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Xaghra, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jon J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Gozo”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, this is the most beautiful place we've ever stayed in on a holiday. You walk down a short side street and open doors to a stunning 3 storey facade of Gozitan history. The courtyard you are then stood in resonates to the sound of the pool overflowing next to you. You just want to dump your bags and slide in. Even in January!!! The wow factor continues when you walk in to the house; open plan downstairs with kitchen, dining room an lounge with amazing cast iron chandelier hanging from the top floor. An original stone wall really makes you feel like you're walking in to history. Whoever has renovated this house has a real feel for originality with a classic touch. We had great difficulty deciding which bedroom to have as they're all so individual, but in the end we put our foot down and insisted on the 3rd floor room with balcony and roof terrace, while our younger friends argued over the other beautiful rooms. You are a 30 second walk from xaghra square where there are plenty of bars and restaurants. This being January it was pretty quiet but the Oleander restaurant was busy and is a thing of beauty if you like your food; octopus starter and ribeye steak were stunning and one of the best meals we've ever had, thank you Martin and Barry, our hosts! The island is full of history, mythology and beauty as well as an interesting capital (Victoria/Rabat) which feels quite colonial. You can even have a game of snooker with the locals so I might bring my cue next time! As you drive around the island you see a beautiful church and square, great bars, restaurants and friendly people every 5 minutes. Eventually you come back to a beautiful house that feels just like home. We loved it and we will be back to Dar Ta Nina. Grazzi Gozo!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2017
Thank you for your review of our home Jon and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Dar Ta Nina.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozena M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful house! A typical Gozitan property that has been brought up to date in a very sympathetic manner. The kitchen is fully equipped and one of the things I appreciated was the good quality knives - vital if you want to take advantage of the fresh fruit and other produce. Whatever you need, you'll find it here. If you like to travel light, as I do, you'll be pleased to find hair dryers in every room. I was surprised it could be so warm in October so, on a couple of occasions, I was grateful for the air-conditioning.
Outdoors it's both adult and child friendly; the enclosed garden means the children are free to play safely. The pool is artistic and quirky – great for a dip first thing in the morning before breakfast in the garden. Whether you are a sunworshipper or prefer the shade, there's a spot for you somewhere. The top floor has a large terrace on which to sunbathe during the day or just chill out in the evenings with a glass of wine, watching the sunset.
Although we had a car, the island is easily explorable either by bicycle or bus. It felt as if the property was somewhere distant from the hubbub of daily life because it’s so peaceful, yet the charming square with all its fabulous restaurants and cafes is just round the corner, maybe a two minute walk. You can travel to the larger supermarkets which are a little bit further afield, but to be honest I don’t see the point; the local food shops provide everything – ripe and good quality.
I’ve read some of the other reviews which already give you an idea of the attractions of the island itself. I’ll just add that Gozitans are very welcoming and friendly and appear to always go the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one.
I enjoyed every minute of my stay. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious property, and both the hidden gem aspect and the fact that it's so close to life in the charming square.
Liked least: I seriously can't think of anything I didn't like!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
Thank you for your review Boz.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our home and loved all that Xaghra and Gozo has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebor270...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A stunning property with every attention to detail”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at the property with my wife and son aged 15 years. WOW ! As you arrive you are met by a large green door, at the point you don't know what to expect.....then as you open the door you are met by a medium size pool and outside table and tasteful loungers. On entering the actual property there has been no expense spared, it is clear the owners have paid attention to every tiny detail.The furniture is a really nice standard with a nice flat screen tv. Broadband ,a must for any 15 year old , works really well all over the house. Upstairs the bedrooms are tastefully decorated with most being en suite. Incidentally there is also a bedroom and shower room on the ground floor for easy/disabled access. There is spiral staircase which takes you to what can only be described as the master suite ! This room is amazing. It has two balconies, one on either side of the room ,a generous en suite and plenty of wardrobes. The beds are soo so comfy you could be tempted to have a lie in ! The top balcony has loungers and a seating area with great views. It was fantastic to sit up there of an evening and just relax.
literally within a 3 minute walk there is a square with a number of bars and restaurants where you will find lovely food and very friendly local people . Car hire is cheap here ,mine was £53 for the week. It was great to jump in the car and travel round the island visiting the lovely beaches and even more restaurants.
I have booked to go again next year where I will be taking some friends and make full use of all those bedrooms, mine being on the top floor !
This place is definitely worth a visit, its spotless and a credit to the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jumping into the pool before breakfast
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to add your review of our home and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Dar Ta Nina earlier this year.
We really do want our guests to have a fantastic time and to enjoy all that the house and Xaghra has to offer and it would appear that all the boxes were ticked for you and your family.
Once again, thank you and you are welcome back at anytime.
Andrea & Craig.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big kitchen where we could all meet around the big table - The pool and chilling walled garden
Liked least: Some of the views of other unkept properties nearby.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2016
Thank you so much for your review and we really are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rob D
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous period house on the beautiful island of Gozo”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Dar ta Nina is a beautiful period property in Xaghra, a Gozotan village steeped in history. Just five minutes walk from the house are the Temples of Ggantija, a megalithic ancient monument easily comparible with Stonhenge in terms of international archaelogical importance not to mention visual impact. Gozo is full of surprises like this and the house is an ideal base from which to explore the island's treasures. I would strongly recommend the Temples and also the superb Citadella in nearby Victoria as two must-see attractions on Gozo. There are many more...
The house itself is beautifully appointed and has been sympathetically restored by the owners retaining many original features whilst incorporating modern luxuries. These include a beautiful swimming pool, a fully-equipped , modern kitchen and numerous bathrooms. It's a spacious, airy property with high arched ceilings on the ground level and impressive beamed ceilings to the upper floors. It's perfect for large families or groups of friends and is an ideal house for entertaining. We had a memorable evening sharing a bottle of wine with friends on the rooftop terrace whilst watching the beautiful Gozotan sunset.
This was my second visit to the property and I enjoyed it even more than the first. Gozo has an excellent island bus service which, if like me, you prefer not to drive when on holiday, makes getting around very easy.. Cycle hire is available locally and the compact size of the island makes it ideal for exploring on two wheels. A favourite day out for my partner and myself is to cycle down to nearby Marsalform, enjoy a leisurely breakfast at one of the pavement cafes and then cycle along the coast to the Roman salt pans before riding to the beautiful gorge at Ghasri for a spot of swimming in the beautiful waters which surround the island.
Dar ta Nina is a superb luxury holiday property in one of Gozo's premier locations, it's situated in a quiet backwater and yet ideally placed to walk out in the evening a enjoy a choice of excellent places to eat. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb kitchen, beautifully appointed property
Liked least: It's all good!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
Thank you so much for our first review.
We really are pleased that you both enjoyed your second visit to our home and discovered the gems that the island of Gozo has to offer.
Craig & Andrea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing