We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old fashioned hotel in a quiet town”
Review of Vecchio Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vecchio Convento
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent a long weekend here hiking in the Casentino National Park, and loved the hotel, the food and the hospitality. An old convent that has been restored without overdoing it, still has the atmosphere of an Italian house from the 50s with cast iron bedsteads, incredibly high ceilings and heavy wooden furniture. Simple but comfortable, wifi works fine but no aircon. One of the most outstanding hotel breakfasts I've had in Italy with a huge range of home baked breads and cakes, wonderful home made berry preserves, and a lovely garden to eat in. Had dinner there 3 nights in a row, always excellent, service informal, attentive and welcoming. A great hideway spot in a beautiful area.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank omegendorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Vecchio Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 101 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've stayed at the hotel twice over the last three years and so far it is the best place I've stayed in Italy for that price range. Where to start, the food is amazing. Full stop. The rooms are basic, super clean but tastefully furnished. The service is attentive without being in your face, a great balance that so many smaller places tend to miss. The area is great for hiking, exploring the tiny medieval villages and just general relaxation. This is not on the tourist track but that's why I love it. You can sign up for a number of activities such as cooking, excursions, great that they are offered but I've never participated in them. The owners also don't push or sell these activities which is quite refreshing. I would recommend having a car for greater mobility.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel, away from the street. Anyways you will still hear the church be...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had the chance to stay at this hotel lot's of times in the past and I can only suggest it .
Don't have in mind all the new Hotel where beauty centre ,elevator ,aricon etc etc are the prime thing...where the staff is wonderfully dressed and equiped but doesn't care at all ...but have in mind a wonderfull jump in the past where the value is the person and the service . Have in mind an old monastery perfectly kept , with his thick walls that are keeping the right temperature of your room even if outside is over 32°, have in mind a wonderfull panorama . A nice small medieval city where to have a walk , with no special shop except the necessary for the inhabitants .
Have in mind a nice and pure river where you can swimm in with your partner or your Kids after a short walk in nature .
Have in mind a simple staff (may be dressed like a plumber in that moment) , always available for your need ,with a big pure smile that reminds you everytime how nice it's to be a person and not a Number .

In the hotel there were no TV -and that was a great thing for me - and to spend the time were organized Painting Courses -cooking - walking etc etc..in few words something you could do and no Bad news at all !! .
The breakfast in the "old Store " -garden is great with a large and really rich buffet .
In the evening I personally suggest you to enjoy the restaurant that is not a "Posh place " but a nice "Cosy corner" where the italian food is prepared as the italian granny were doing with a personal touch of the chef ...Simply delicious !
I'm a hotel manager in another city of Italy and I swear when i think "how I want the hotel i manage to be " the answer is "As the Vecchio Convento " ;)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlykanasRedskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

From the warm welcome, delicious food to cozy rooms, The Vecchio Convento totally felt like a home. Totally enhanced my positive experience of Portico staying at this nice location. Totally recommend it to travellers looking for an authentic accomodation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I decided to go to Portico di Romagna to stay for a week at the italian school "Scuola Verde L'OLmo". When I came Saturday evening the 13th of October, the night before the big Sagra dei Frutti del Sottobosco, the first i heard was Marissa laughing and her warm welcome. I had a wonderful stay and the hole family are so warm, kind and helpful. The activities as truffel hunting whit their lovely dogs, wine and olive oil tasting, walking in the forest where they collect the chestnuts and cooking lesson where we maked ravioli was amaicing. The school and the teacher Caterina was really good. I had an intensive week and feel that I learned a lot and I could speak a lot italian.
I can higly recommend both, the school and the hotel for stays to make trips to lovely small cities as Ravenna, Faenza, Bologna, .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hankri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Driving through the countryside or a small vilage, sometimes You think "I should stop here someday". Vecchio Convento is just such a small place. The old convent is charming and renovated with great respect for the original building and its materials. You might stay in one of the rooms in the old bell tower across the street, where the centuries old granite stairs are worn hollow over the years. The food is loyal to the regions traditions with a loving modern touch. The village is very small and quiet - ideal for walks in the countryside. Very high value for money. My highest recommendations. Just do not expect a lively nightlife.

Room Tip: Chose the bell tower for peace and quiet - the bell is long gone!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went on a cookery and culinary week organised by Bath Travel. The earlier reviews really do tell it as it is. The hospitality and organisation of the hotel were real pleasures to experience. These are hosts who enjoy what they do and the way they present the many different offerings, from the cooking lessons to the truffle hunting (successful!), to the local accompanied visits. All the family members combined to make it an unforgettable week, but one has to mention Marisa, who was ever present with her infectious laugh to keep the 'party' moving (we all wanted to have some of what she was on!) and 'Max' who has vision, not just as a instructional chef, but with a passion to foster and develop the Italian countryside way of life. In particular, we wish them every success in their bringing small arts and crafts businesses into the village, which will add another dimension to whatever you choose to do under their guidance. Great value. Grazie - from John and Judith.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy_J0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portico di Romagna
16.9 mi away
I Tre Baroni
I Tre Baroni
#1 of 1 in Moggiona
374 reviews
16.0 mi away
Albergo Falterona
Albergo Falterona
#1 of 1 in Stia
180 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Tosco Romagnolo
Hotel Tosco Romagnolo
#2 of 12 in Bagno di Romagna
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Roseo Euroterme Wellness Resort
Roseo Euroterme Wellness Resort
#1 of 12 in Bagno di Romagna
1,636 reviews
12.6 mi away
Borgo Conde Wine Resort
2.0 mi away
L'Agriturismo La Cerreta
L'Agriturismo La Cerreta
#2 of 4 in Rocca San Casciano
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vecchio Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vecchio Convento

Address: Via Roma 7 | Portico Di Romagna, 47010 Portico di Romagna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Forli-Cesena > Portico di Romagna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portico di Romagna
Price Range: $105 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vecchio Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Vecchio Convento, hotel 3 stelle in Romagna, e ospitato in uno splendido palazzo ottocentesco, appartenuto in passato ad una delle famiglie piu antiche del luogo. Oggi, anche se dotate di tutti i comfort, tutte le sale conservano le caratteristiche originali, nel rispetto dell'ambiente e della tradizione.Nel ristorante de Al Vecchio Convento viene riproposta la cucina tipica romagnola, elaborata dalle sapienti mani dei tre chef Cameli. Marisa cura il servizio di sala e vi propone le nostre specialita della stagione. La cucina si basa sul semplice concetto di usare prodotti locali di prima qualita. Al Vecchio Convento proponiamo una via diversa dal turismo tradizionale. Potrai vivere il paese da dentro ed entrare subito a farne parte, partecipare ai nostri corsi di cucina e caccia al tartufo, scoprire il territorio con le degustazioni di vini e prodotti tipici romagnoli. Potrai studiare l'italiano nella scuola di italiano per stranieri e partecipare ad escursioni guidate nel Parco Nazionale delle Foreste Casentinesi e nelle citta d'arte della Romagna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vecchio Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Convento Portico Di Romagna, Italy - Emilia-Romagna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing