We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Vecchio Convento
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went on a cookery and culinary week organised by Bath Travel. The earlier reviews really do tell it as it is. The hospitality and organisation of the hotel were real pleasures to experience. These are hosts who enjoy what they do and the way they present the many different offerings, from the cooking lessons to the truffle hunting (successful!), to the local accompanied visits. All the family members combined to make it an unforgettable week, but one has to mention Marisa, who was ever present with her infectious laugh to keep the 'party' moving (we all wanted to have some of what she was on!) and 'Max' who has vision, not just as a instructional chef, but with a passion to foster and develop the Italian countryside way of life. In particular, we wish them every success in their bringing small arts and crafts businesses into the village, which will add another dimension to whatever you choose to do under their guidance. Great value. Grazie - from John and Judith.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy_J0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is in a town of 400; the owners are native to the town, and run a language school to boot, so they are fairly fluent in several languages. They clearly love what they are doing, and it shows in the attentiveness to our needs, the food, and the general ambiance of the place. We stayed for almost a week, and got to witness some of the local regular events, as well as some trips organized and managed by the family of Vecchio Convento.

Room Tip: Be aware of the bell tower, which chimes not only the hour, but five minutes after each hour. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sevencountriessofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

One of the first things you hear when you arrive at the Vecchio Convento is Marisa's infectious laugh, which doesn't stop the whole time you are there. Marisa Raggi and Gianni Cameli (the head chef) together with their two sons (Massimilano and Matteo) and daughter in-laws (Ulla and Camilla),make you feel right at home. We were there for 6 days for a photography workshop, and couldn't have fallen in love with the place more. The rooms are nice, and clean- the stairs can be brutal after a long day, but the exercise is great. The food is awesome, homemade by the family each day. They have a backyard grass patio to relax on, or a front patio to watch the town. They have wireless in each room in the main building. There is a TV room, card room, and a hang out room.
We were taken on a winery tour, up to the legendary volcano, into the neighboring towns market,
If you want to see Italy without all the tourists this med evil town is a must. It is also said to be written about in Dante’s Divine Comedy. The hotel is located right in the center of the old town, with walks down the narrow flower lined streets, or walks up the road for the vistas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyD2274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Having decided to seek out a watercolour painting holiday in Italy, suitable for beginners, Al Vecchio Convento in Portico di Romagna was suggested to us. On arrival in the quaint little town, we were met with bubbling enthusiasm by the hotel owners, who made us warmly welcome. Our stay was absolutely wonderful, relaxing, refreshing and memorable. We so enjoyed the authentic Italian holiday experience, away from more standard hotels and crowds; and we loved the informal friendliness, helpfulness and flexibility of the staff, and the camaraderie of other guests who were also basking in the unique atmosphere. Breakfast and evening meals were not timed to a fixed schedule, but flexible to accommodate guests – we thought that was a real holiday luxury! The food was fabulous! The breakfast buffet, brimming with local fresh produce, fabulous fresh fruit, and an amazing array of home-made preserves and home-baked cakes (often still warm as they came out of the oven) was a delicious treat and a special way to start the day. We savoured authentic regional Italian cuisine, carefully prepared with fresh herbs, and presented with a flourish as we relaxed and enjoyed a leisurely evening meal in the hotel restaurant, reflecting on our experiences of the day and planning our next sightseeing options. The rooms were quite old fashioned, but the beds were very comfortable. The local church bells ring out intermittently, and daily life begins early in the cobbled streets outside; however, that made us feel we were in ‘real’ Italy. We found it was helpful having a car to be able to explore the local area independently, but many guests, e.g. on the cookery course, enjoyed participating in a range of outings organized by the hotel.

We weren’t quite sure what to expect of the painting classes, as we had been advised that our tutor was not English speaking. We needn’t have worried – with an Italian-English dictionary and many hand gestures and lots of laughs (and hotel staff willing to translate if we got into any difficulties), we got on famously, and enjoyed wonderful creative painting mornings in the charming hotel garden and nearby surrounds. We progressed in our painting and drawing skills and abilities, and were inspired to develop our interest and talents further. We also took the opportunity to join in a cookery class and learned how to make pasta, ravioli and gnocchi the traditional way (it’s hard work!), which gave us a new appreciation for home-made pasta!

This was a holiday which really did have it all for us – new sights, being immersed in traditional Italian culture in an off the beaten track location, learning creative new skills, enjoying wonderful food, a rather unique and exceptionally warm, personal and friendly ambience, comfortable beds, and many special and happy memories. We left feeling refreshed and renewed, and we are looking forward to returning to Al Vecchio Convento for our next watercolour painting holiday, which we booked straight after this one.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden of the hotel are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I stopped here for one night as part of our honeymoon. After a drive down some fun and twisty roads we had arrived at our destination, Vechhio Convento! We were welcomed as if we were part of the family coming to stay for the night. They showed us to our room and mentioned taking a little walk around the lovely village. Even though the restaurant was not open, they sat us down after our walk at a lovely table outside. They brought out local wine (which was delicious) and a salad from their own garden. After a couple more glasses of wine and some lovely relaxation it was time for dinner. We walked into the hall and they invited us into the kitchen. I really felt like I was part of the family. My husband and I had the best meal we have had in a long time. It had been a long day and we were ready to head to bed. When we got to the room we found that they had surprised us with a bottle of champagne and a bowl full of fresh strawberries to toast to our honeymoon. I hope to return to Italy and when we do, I think I know where to stay! We stayed in all sorts of hotels, bed and breakfasts including a castle and a five star hotel, but I think this was our favorite!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo-Ristorante, Proprietario at Al Vecchio Convento, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear Melissannis Charlotte,

it was a pleasure to have you over in Portico di Romagna in the "Al Vecchio Convento".

Well, to say something about your kind words, we always try to make our guests feel at home also because maybe we are not only a family run hotel but a family running a hotel, especially for clients but particularly old or new friends.

No problem to also make you feel at home when going to your room: you just got married!

Hope to see you soon here.

Kind regards,

Marisa & family & friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The last time I visited this hotel, i stopped my car, the door of the hotel opened, and there was the sound of a warm "Ciao Marco".
Immediately I felt at home all ready. I got to know this hotel through the language scool, but have been coming there for about four years now. I try to visit this hotel every time I go to Italy. For the very good quisine, the warm atmosphere, the very nice surroundings.
I can especcially recommend eating in the hotel, because the restaurant will serve you with a very good diner, with all the very fresh food and tastes of the Emilia Romagna region.

Room Tip: Next to the hotel is a church, if the bells of this church will keep you awake ask for a room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The Vecchio Convento is one of those enchanted places that still make people fall in love with life, nature and beautiful hearted people.
The Place is amazing, the food is ALWAYS mouthwatering, the people working and living there are warm and joyful, the real soul of the place is the family owning the Convento...
The Cameli's brothers, Marisa and "partner in crime Gianni" know how to have fun and make anyone around feel the spontaneous sparkling atmosphere of joy, happines and amusement that embed the wall of this blessed place...Pop up party are always behind the corner and never miss the occasion to go and partecipate to one of those, with Mr. Cameli entering the door with a huge trombone on his shoulders, entertaining the amused and hypnotised guests with his big smiling eyes...
I definitly advise anyone to go and bathe in this loving "Depression Free" atmosphere...
hope you enjoy like i do every time i go
Nick Ongaro

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Vecchio Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Vecchio Convento

Address: Via Roma 7, 47010 Portico di Romagna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Forli-Cesena > Portico di Romagna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portico di Romagna
Price Range: $105 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Vecchio Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Al Vecchio Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Vecchio Convento Portico Di Romagna, Italy - Emilia-Romagna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing