We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent apart from location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Downtown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent apart from location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a well priced comfortable hotel. Friendly competent staff, and the restuarant serves some supprisingly good food. However be aware that if you are not young and sprightly or have a car, then the walk up the hill to the centre of Victoria is taxing to say the least.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    120
    48
    13
    12
See reviews for
38
116
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Julians Malta.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I don't usually like to stay in a hotel that has less than 4 stars but everyone said that this hotel was good so we decided to try it and i'm glad we did. One may not feel as pampered as when staying in a 4 or 5 star but you do have some comforts of a 4 star. The A/c was very good in every part of the hotel and it's adjusted from each room. There is also free WIFI in all rooms and a lovely little pool on the roof. My daughter also enjoyed the lovely children's play area and there is also a nice coffee shop with some lovely cakes. Breakfast was also good and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StJulians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We chose the unfortunately-named Downtown hotel as it seemed to be almost the only choice close to the centre of Victoria. But despite the website pictures, and the dreary first impression, it’s really better than just an OK place to stay. The town centre with its rather few restaurants is about a ten minute walk, and there is a really nice, if slightly fancy place (Patrick’s) to eat a little way from the hotel on the right as you head out of town.

This is a straightforward and unfussy business hotel – decent rooms, quiet, and everything worked; ideal as a holiday base for a couple of nights in Victoria, but in no way a destination or experience in itself. Rooms were fine, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast (standard fare, and included in our very low room-rate) unexceptional but adequate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Have stayed a couple of times, just an 'Ok hotel', for the room and to sleep, would not like to spend a holiday there.
Good breakfast

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gozogeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
consettgashead
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Arriving in the dark down the back streets I commented to my wife as we approached it, "It lives up to its name".

That wasn't really fair, and once we entered it we got a good impression from the excellent ultra-friendly and helpful receptionist. Pity she wasn't on all the time as the receptionists were different most times we passed, and some more interested than others.

The room impressed with its size and cleanliness, the en-suite was fine too, and I was glad to get Sky News, though that was the only English Channel. When we looked out of the window in the morning we had a lovely country view, a definite plus.

The first day breakfast was ad hoc - there were few guests in mid-winter and they were using the restaurant so we ate in the cafe. It was brilliant. The guy doing it offered us a range of individually prepared things and couldn't do enough for us. The other two days were "standard" breakfasts and much less appealing. The full English seemed to have been put out at the breakfast start time - in heated trays - and that was it, so it wasn't particularly appealing later. The coffee and hot water in Thermos Flasks weren't what you'd call piping hot. It wasn't dreadful - just not a highlight to start the day.

Hence the title. We enjoyed our stay, liked Victoria, were stunned by the Citadel and it's panoramic view of Gozo, but the Hotel which had the potential to be excellent just managed to miss it. Almost, but not quite.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank consettgashead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed at the Downtown for 1 night in December as part of a little tour of Gozo. Perfect for exploring Victoria. Our room (no 220) was probably one of their more basic rooms as it had a view of the aircon pipes and a wall from the window and no balcony, but it was clean and perfectly comfortable. Free Wi-Fi hotel wide is a big plus and Breakfast was ok although there was no jam. The pool area was open but it wasn't the weather for it. There are a few loungers and the pool is small but would be good for a cooling off dip in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank framptonrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel has the perfect location in Victoria Rabat. You get what you pay for really. If you are expecting luxury then this is not the hotel for you. This hotel is good if you will be spending your time outside. Not much to do in the hotel.

My only complaint was that it was very hot. The air conditioner stopped working at night and I think there was some sort of central heating because me and my other 2 friends woke up drenched with sweat which made it very hard to sleep properly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
1.9 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
1.9 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Property: Downtown Hotel
Address: Europa Street, Victoria, Island of Gozo VCT 2732, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Victoria
Downtown Hotel Island Of Gozo/Victoria, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing