We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost, but not quite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Downtown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
consettgashead
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Almost, but not quite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Arriving in the dark down the back streets I commented to my wife as we approached it, "It lives up to its name".

That wasn't really fair, and once we entered it we got a good impression from the excellent ultra-friendly and helpful receptionist. Pity she wasn't on all the time as the receptionists were different most times we passed, and some more interested than others.

The room impressed with its size and cleanliness, the en-suite was fine too, and I was glad to get Sky News, though that was the only English Channel. When we looked out of the window in the morning we had a lovely country view, a definite plus.

The first day breakfast was ad hoc - there were few guests in mid-winter and they were using the restaurant so we ate in the cafe. It was brilliant. The guy doing it offered us a range of individually prepared things and couldn't do enough for us. The other two days were "standard" breakfasts and much less appealing. The full English seemed to have been put out at the breakfast start time - in heated trays - and that was it, so it wasn't particularly appealing later. The coffee and hot water in Thermos Flasks weren't what you'd call piping hot. It wasn't dreadful - just not a highlight to start the day.

Hence the title. We enjoyed our stay, liked Victoria, were stunned by the Citadel and it's panoramic view of Gozo, but the Hotel which had the potential to be excellent just managed to miss it. Almost, but not quite.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank consettgashead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    120
    48
    13
    12
See reviews for
38
116
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed at the Downtown for 1 night in December as part of a little tour of Gozo. Perfect for exploring Victoria. Our room (no 220) was probably one of their more basic rooms as it had a view of the aircon pipes and a wall from the window and no balcony, but it was clean and perfectly comfortable. Free Wi-Fi hotel wide is a big plus and Breakfast was ok although there was no jam. The pool area was open but it wasn't the weather for it. There are a few loungers and the pool is small but would be good for a cooling off dip in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank framptonrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel has the perfect location in Victoria Rabat. You get what you pay for really. If you are expecting luxury then this is not the hotel for you. This hotel is good if you will be spending your time outside. Not much to do in the hotel.

My only complaint was that it was very hot. The air conditioner stopped working at night and I think there was some sort of central heating because me and my other 2 friends woke up drenched with sweat which made it very hard to sleep properly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Just returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at the Downtown Hotel. Had work commitment at short notice, so we decided to spend an extra few days there. Despite the fact Gozo is at its busiest during this weekend, we were delighted to find 2 available rooms at this central hotel. The buffet breakfast had enough variety and we were very satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel throughout. Staff were also friendly throughout. It is really a stone's throw away from the hub of the city, with shops, supermarkets and attractions nearby. Parking also proved to be relatively easy when compared to staying at other towns like Marsalforn or Xlendi! The only downside is the very small pool, with half of it being VERY shallow, and with 4 noisy children splashing around it was not exactly the ideal ambience however there are plenty of nearby beaches so it wasn't a big deal.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a good value for money, clean, central stay in Gozo!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I've just returned from a B&B weekend break in the Downtown Hotel. Everything was perfect! I chose this hotel because it was very affordable The most striking thing about the hotel is the location, perfect since it is a stone's throw from Victoria centre and thus, no parking hassle! Although there is no car park area exclusive to the hotel, parking was never a problem. The staff is hard working and helpful, always with a smile on their faces. The room was very cute and in ship shape, and is much more beautiful than certain rooms in other 4 star hotels I visited. Breakfast was amazing - no 3 star hotel I had ever visited before served a very good English breakfast, yet, this one did! The food varieties were sufficient, where there was a bit of everything. The fact that there are only 40 rooms in the hotel is great since there are no long queues at the breakfast buffet, and at night the hotel is very quiet. The only downside of this hotel is the swimming pool, which is very small and shallow. However, with all the beautiful beaches in Gozo, this was not a problem that bugged me. I took a general opinion from people I met in the elevators, and everyone had a word of praise for this hotel. This was the best 3 star hotel I ever visited and better than some 4 star hotels too! I recommend this to everyone, since it is suitable for people of all ages and interests. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikiel711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

once we arrived there the staff was very friendly and helpful. We chose a room with the country view which was the best option cause on the side of the road there is nothing going on to view. it's not centrally located but you can easily walk to the centre and shops and it's not far from the shopping mall. If you have a car (which is ideal in gozo cause you cango round the island quite easily) there is a parking area provided next to the hotel. Was a bit dissapointed with the breakfast, especially because to go to the restaurant you have to go through a coffee shop full of nice pastries expecting to find some in the breakfast area. The rooms were a bit small but they were clean and had everything we needed in our room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie17_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Great place to stay and relax, extremely clean. Pleasant non intrusive staff, yummy english breakfast. restaurant and cafeteria available through the day. fabulous location 5 mins away from city centre. large room, very comfortable with large balcony with view. extra plus for us...they let us stay with ous pets which was a real luxury for us since not everyone is that tolerant!!

Room Tip: ask for room with valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenmab79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.9 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
1.9 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Property: Downtown Hotel
Address: Europa Street, Victoria, Island of Gozo VCT 2732, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Victoria
Downtown Hotel Island Of Gozo/Victoria, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing