We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone down hill” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cittadella Restaurant

Cittadella Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 46 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have been to Victoria and eaten here many times, but this year - well - it was very poor. I had the warm chicken salad - chicken was dry and there was hardly any dressing - totally unappetizing and even the cafe cat did not want any more! My husband's omelette seemed to have been cooked in batter and was tasteless. So disappointing after all this time. The toilets were not very clean either. Not a good experience this year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    16
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive and Poor Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

A colleague and I went to this restaurant after hunting for a suitable place to eat in Victoria, Gozo. The Garden was full of flies which you might expect being outside, but the proprietors have not made an attempt at controlling this problem e.g. lamps under parasols and in the shade etc.

The food was expensive compared to mainland-Malta (understandable due to importation costs) but this extra expense seemed unreasonable for a salad and soup.

The food was poor quality. I had a Gbejna salad (7.50 Euros), of which one of the cheeselets was so salty I couldn't eat, with the salad tasting like washing detergent.

My colleague had the Maltese famous Widows Soup (6.50 Euros), of which he described as "reconstituted dish water."

Previously, we visited a lovely traditional Maltese restaurant in Valletta on Merchant street which was top quality for a very reasonable price.

As Gozo and Malta are two different Islands, I'm not saying to go there instead of course, but as a comparison, this restaurant could do much better for the prices it charges.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank regorton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quiet relaxed place to eat in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just below the Citadel and situated in a quiet courtyard this is a lovely place for a quiet relaxed meal. The food was excellent and the service friendly and attentive. A great place for a quite lunch and away from the heat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rondayvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty cheese and perfect tomato sauce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

On a very hot summer day we enjoyed a nice lunch at this restaurant. We choose to sit inside, where it was nice and cool even without aircondition. We ate a salad with local Gozitan cheese and ricotta filled ravioli with a fresh tomato sauce, accompanied by a crispy white wine. We ate the local cheeslets made from sheep milk and finished with cracked black pepper elsewhere as well, but in the Citadella they definitely serve the quality version of this local cheese.
The Citadella is located on the way down from the medieval fortress town of Victoria and is a good choice in between or after strowling through this lovely town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Photothema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
189 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“serene Cittadella”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

On a blustery day, having nearly been blown off the ramparts of the Cittadel, we sought refuge and something nice to eat at about midday. The Cittadella restaurant seemed the right place because it was tucked (down and) away, on the road up to the Citadel, and offered serenity, calm and nice food. I'm not so sure about the suitability of some names of dishes: widows soup sounds like something horrible you might want to give a terrible husband to eat!?

Anyhow, I tried the fried rabbit in white wine and garlic. It was OK but dry-ish. Maybe I should have tried the rabbit in a stew, instead.

The freshly squeezed orange drink was great.

This restaurant apparently accepts group bookings, so you might wish to eat early or later, to avoid large groups of people - with the inevitable effect on service.

Anyway, we managed to escape that problem by having lunch early (midday).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cittadella Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Island of Gozo
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 
Victoria, Island of Gozo
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 
Victoria, Island of Gozo
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Cittadella Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing