We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish restaurant, great menu and impeccable service”
Review of La Stanza

La Stanza
Ranked #8 of 51 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: La Stanza Restaurant is situated in a 400 year old farmhouse in a quiet outskirt of Victoria enjoying a vast view of the historic fortified Citadel from its terrace. La Stanza is not just a place in which we work, it is our passion. We want you to feel welcome, relaxed, special; in traditional and atmospheric surroundings with attentive staff. We want your experience to be enjoyable and memorable.We believe that dining should be an experience to remember and truly enjoyed. We want you to love to dine!
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish restaurant, great menu and impeccable service”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Having visited La Stanza last night for the first time, we were annoyed with ourselves that we did not visit earlier during our stay in Gozo as it turned out to be the best dining experience on the island for us.

The restaurant is split into different areas, i.e. outside terrace and wonderful authentic interior, all very inviting. We were greeted by very attentive and extremely friendly staff who provided first class service throughout the evening.

The menu selection was not vast, but varied and extremely interesting, and it was very difficult to choose from the lovely offerings. All our courses were a delight, extremely tasty and flavoursome as well as beautifully presented. Even our eight year old took a great delight in choosing from the menu which offered all dishes in children's portions for half price. He finished a three course meal and took the greatest delight in the dessert he choose which was a freshly made Chocolate Fondant.
All in all highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaStanzaRestaurant19, Manager at La Stanza, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks a lot for taking time to post your review. We hope to welcome you again at a Stanza.
La StanzaTeam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    75
    29
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My partner and I have been to this restaurant twice, once on a BBQ night and another time on a regular night. Both times, the quality of the food was outstanding & excellent value for money. Both times, we were made to feel welcome by the restaurant owners and the staff, who were friendly, yet professional and unintrusive. The overall atmosphere was very relaxing, leading to two memorable evenings sampling delicious food. I loved the terrace on the 1st floor but please bear in mind that this is an old building, and there is no elevator. I highly recommend this place and we can't wait to go again. P.S. hoping the gourmet burger will be back on the specials list soon :D !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mea109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaStanzaRestaurant19, Manager at La Stanza, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks a lot for taking time to post your review. We hope to welcome you again at a Stanza.
La StanzaTeam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quaint and tasty”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile


This a quaint little restaurant with loads of character great for a fun night with a group or a romantic dinner for two. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The food is very tasty and is good quality. We had fillet steak and rib eye steak both were well aged and cook to perfection. There were many more interesting dishes so do not be put off by our conservative choices. Try and get a table in the small terrace.

Helpful?
Thank alex607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaStanzaRestaurant19, Manager at La Stanza, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks a lot for taking time to post your review. We hope to welcome you again at a Stanza.
La StanzaTeam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food - sloooooooooow service”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A lovely restaurant - warm welcome with a glass of prosecco when we arrived. The food was really very good but the evening was spoiled by the speed of the service - we waited a long time for menus, for the wine, for our orders to be taken and for the food to arrive - by the time the mains arrived we had all lost our appetites a bit - a shame as all four of us thought the quality of the food was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaStanzaRestaurant19, Owner at La Stanza, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Michael. We are very sorry to read your review and would like to apologize for any inconvenience. Can you please tell me the date you came for dinner and which table you were seated? Kind regards, Cedric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“inspirational vegetarian food”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant came highly recommended and we were not disappointed.
Great welcome and a glass of local sparkling wine set the tone for the evening.
Staff were very welcoming, views of the Citadel from the terrace and really good food. What more could you wish for? Also for the standard of food I thought the cost very reasonable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ay_derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaStanzaRestaurant19, Manager at La Stanza, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thanks a lot for taking time to post your review. We hope to welcome you again at a Stanza.
La StanzaTeam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Stanza also viewed

Victoria, Island of Gozo
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 

Been to La Stanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing