We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasing”
Review of La Stanza

La Stanza
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: La Stanza Restaurant is situated in a 400 year old farmhouse in a quiet outskirt of Victoria enjoying a vast view of the historic fortified Citadel from its terrace. La Stanza is not just a place in which we work, it is our passion. We want you to feel welcome, relaxed, special; in traditional and atmospheric surroundings with attentive staff. We want your experience to be enjoyable and memorable.We believe that dining should be an experience to remember and truly enjoyed. We want you to love to dine!
Kercem, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasing”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our third visit last night. Always good service with helpful, friendly staff. A pleasing menu with something for everyone's taste. Tuna steak was very tasty and presentation was mouth watering. The veal escalopes and penne with strips of beef have also been tried and enjoyed. With plenty of choice left to try we will be returning for more. Thank you La Stanza

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Gozo-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manikata - Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spoilt for Choice!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The more I go to eat at La Stanza, the more I fall in love with not only the food, but the place & it's ambience. The menu is vast & don't forget to ask for the specialities of the day, which leave you breathless! Besides the fact, that the owners & staff are ever so friendly, the food is presented with detailed creativity, well done the Chef Stephan & his assistants. If you do hv a sweet tooth, then ask Melissa, Stephan's partner, to prepare an assortment of desserts! Don't you think it's abt time to try out this restaurant in the heart of Gozo?!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2 Thank LandroverHSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If I this review means someone does not go here and avoids the experience we had then I will be happy!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

A truly horrible experience.
We went here after the festival of santa Maria. It was clearly busy but we got a table straight away. However, we then had to wait over 3 hours for our main courses, which were bland and Un-exciting.
The staff did not check on us once during the 3 hours so it was upto us to bug them to find out when our food was ready. There was a couple sat next to who arrived an hour later than us got their food before us.
When we raised this as unreasonable when paying all we got was a mouth full of abuse from the disgracefull waitress.

Truly horrible behaviour from what could have been a very pleasant evening if they had made minimal effort.


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4 Thank BobbyP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stehantabone, Owner at La Stanza, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
I'm sorry to hear all these unacceptable words from a human being. If you really go through this review of complaints I already can account how arrogant you are to judge the restaurant manager that you indicated as a waiter with such disgraceful worlds. First of all our restaurant served 100 people on that night in 3 hours and the other table that you mentioned had the main course in the same time with yours. I won t even let my staff serve people like you, doing bad images to other businesses because of not having a beer discounted from the bill which you asked for, after your table was offered a drink on the house. Finally we accept your complaint because you were the only one who complained about our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with nice view”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Pleasant restaurant with small pit dose terasses. The roof top terrace give a good view on the Citadel. Food was good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2 Thank MJWJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Sadly only 1 out of 4 meals we had in our group was nice. The pasta with cream had no cream but some runny liquid at the bottom of the bowl. The fresh fish was extremely salty and far too fishy (fresh fish should not smell or taste fishy), the rack of lamb was just chops but did taste lovely, and the duck was delicious. The side portion of veg were fresh and delicious, the potatoes seasoned amazingly with fresh crispy herbs (rosemary and thyme), and the bruschetta was gorgeous. We saw another table with the fresh fish flatter but the calamari was inedible (they were tapping it with a spoon)! The beef looked lovely but we didn't try it. Disappointing experience.

2 Thank Bendyspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Stanza also viewed

Victoria, Island of Gozo
Victoria, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo

Been to La Stanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing