We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History with a view!”
Review of The Citadel

The Citadel
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.64*
and up
Gozo Full-Day Jeep Tour
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Victoria
St. Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“History with a view!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I visited The Citadel as part of a guided day trip to Gozo from Malta, we were dropped at the bottom of the hill and then walked up to the The Citadel where our guide did give us some useful information about it's history and we were then given plenty of time to walk around by ourselves to enjoy the awesome views of Gozo from the bastions and then walk round it's narrow streets. It's not very big and so it doesn't take that long to see it all but it's certainly well worth paying it a visit also there's a lovely little shop within the walls that sells the most beautiful Gozo lace and it's very well priced so if you're looking for a unique gift to take back home do go and take a look.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    587
    185
    44
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Interesting walk around the bastions with some great views. We didn't visit the cathedral due to lack of time. We managed to park right beside the Citadel so avoided the hill.... we were out of season !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
240 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wow and wow! The Citadel is easy to find. The hill is not a difficult climb, in my opinion. There are many places to see spectacular views of Gozo. Try to go at sunset to capture that moment.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kim-ohradiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
“Fantastic views from the bastions...but that's all.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The stunning views from the bastions are worth that bloody steep road leading to them. But that's all the citadel can decently offer. I found the fee we had to pay to visit the cathedral absurd. We didn't have to pay to visit magnificent cathedrals such as the Duomo of Milan and St Peter's of Rome last year, so how come we had to pay to visit the cathedral of Gozo? I think it's a really selfish and absurd mentality. I hope the profit goes for charity. Moreover, I found the museums we visited up there nothing more than sheer boredom.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrenDbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“High up history on a hill”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Good place with attractions. A hard climb to get to up a hill. You are rewarded with some breath taking views. Worth going to see.

Helpful?
Thank PRSGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Citadel also viewed

 
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing