We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Good high point for views

Stayed in Malta, took the ferry over to Gozo, very reasonable. Bus trip to the centre, looked... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sedgers76
,
Norfolk, United Kingdom
via mobile
Cittadella

What a place get used to walking and. Fabulous 360 degree view. Go early or late afternoon. The... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Tomhunter1952
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 176 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Victoria
from $78.62
More Info
from $78.62
More Info
from $22.46
More Info
from $84.23
More Info
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
107
52
12
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
107
52
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio visual presentation walls and ceiling interactive displays state of the art high standard euro ticket historic house interesting history amazing views introduction video information usher citadel island gozo projected
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 176 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

The Citadella's first introduction is through the visitor's centre (although you can buy the €5 five museum ticket at any of the venues). So on entering I was assuming I was expecting something a bit more. The staff were offhandish and bored. I was given a map and then just left to my own devices.
The visitor's centre is just 5 screens with information about the Citadella and more. It is in many languages...so that is a bonus. And everything was interesting.

And then we were rounded up like sheep and told the show is starting. Nobody knee what was going on and then the walls of one of the annexes opened and we were herded through to a corridor with a big hologram of a woman...before, once again, being herded into a square room where the doors automatically posed behind us when we were inside. No explanation...nothing. Then the show started...and it is a full 360° history of Gozo and the Citadella. Finally we began to enjoy it as we realised what it was...but then it ended and with no words spoken, the lady usher just opened an emergency exit and gestured we leave. It led to the middle of nowhere and we all stood a second as the lady shut the door behind us with no explanation of where to go next. I ended up wandering and found some really interesting bits..
But I really think the museum staff need to, at least, explain what is going on. There were about 12 of us on this showing and none of us had a clue what was going on. Hopefully my review will help fellow travellers to grasp the situation earlier and enjoy it more.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank ropentastones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

Wonderful service and explanation from staff before an exceptional audio visual presentation. This was a great way to start off our visit and of a very high standard.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank richardnewtonart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

Bought the ticket for all of Gozos sights here. Information is good and ends up with an excellent video presentation. You are totally surrounded by different aspects of the video at once. A must !!!!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank P9500KIstevec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

Stop in here for maps, information & tickets. Has a great video presentation[surround-sound] that covers 1,000s of years of history that I could watch multiple times, well done. The production won awards. Totally Malta history for dummies! Well done.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank CindyLou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019

When in Gozo, a visit to the Cittadella is a must. The newly opened Visitors' Centre provides a worthwhile introduction for first-time visitors, in particular those on a day-trip to Gozo. It includes an audio-visual projection which is state-of-the-art and extremely well produced with some spectacular imagery. On the other hand, its treatment of the history of the Cittadella and Gozo is quite superficial.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Ray C Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews